Liquor-Infused Chocolate Strawberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
My friend and I made these strawberries for Valentine's Day as gifts. I felt the strawberries were too strong and would probably change them by not adding the grand marnier to the chocolate. Also by not adding the grand marnier the chocolate would have had a more smoother look to it. Or it may just be that orange brandy isn't my type of liquor. My friend on the other hand loved them. And people we gave them to as gifts thought they were fabulous. I also made a batch of plain strawberries just in case people didn't like the bradied ones. So they were still enjoyable regardless. I would definitely make them again to give out as gifts. Something to keep in mind... while infusing the strawberries, watch for shooting streams of alcohol :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I was looking so forward to making these and although they tasted alright they were a pain to make (Sorry! I planned on about 30 min since it was my first time to make them but I spent the entire day) I followed the recipe exactly and as soon as I added the Gran Marnier and heavy cream (which both were room temp), my chocolate/shortening mixture thickened up like my chocolate crackle cookie mixture. I tried to thin it out with heating but ended up throwing it out and making another trip to the store. This time, I used 1/2 the amt. of chocolate (because I purchased the last of the chocolate that the store had) and once again, it thickened. I thinned it out somewhat by adding more Gran Marnier and cream but had to keep heating and stirring in order to keep it at a consistency that I could dip my strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I thought it was hard to infuse the strawberries. In most of the berries, the liquor just sprayed back at me from the syringe. As when melting chocolate, use a very low heat, because melting chocolate gets ruined quickly if heat is too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
These strawberries are wonderful!! They do take a bit of work, though. I made these on 3 different occasions. I used them to garnish a cheesecake. I used Godiva Chocolate Liquor instead of the Grand Marnier last time I made these. They were great! One of my new favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I've made these twice and learned a few things. Very Fresh Firm strawberries are best (pay extra for the quality). 1 pound of choc is too much-use 1/2 to 3/4 pound and adjust the added Grand Marnier. The more GM in the choc, the more is looses it's smooth texture. Don't even try to get 2 tsp of GM into a strawberry unless it's extra huge, settle for 1/2 tsp and move on. With those adjustments...WOW! This was a fabulous treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Changed the injected liquor to suit the tastes of my guests. Instead of brandy, I injected rum into the strawberries, let them sit for about an hour to marinate, then dipped them into chocolate. Did not try to add liquor or cream to the chocolate mixture, just dipped them into chocolate that was melted over a simmering water. This recipe is very versatile as you can insert what ever liquor you prefer into the strawberries. Excellent idea! These are always requested at girls night. But as another reviewer mentioned, there are occasions of escaping streams of liquor while trying to inject strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Decadent! Used Grand Marnier because I love that stuff. I just melted regular chocolate chips and I thought it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
These strawberries last about 2 seconds once you bring them out! You can only inject about 1/2 tsp in a regular sized berry. You'd need "frankenfruit" to be able to put 2 tsp in a strawberry. I used a thin shishkabob stick to make a hole at the middle of the strawberry leaf down into the middle to make more room for the liquor. Be careful not to poke the hole through the strawberry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I gave this 2 stars because of all the pain this recipe put me through. I had to make 3 trips to the store and paid over $35 for chocolate and spent half the day making them. Great idea for strawberries, but do yourself a favor, just melt the chocolate and DO NOT add anything to it. Even tempered, the cream and grand marnier will harden the chocolate instantly. With all said and done, they came out beautiful and they tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Didn't go over as well as I had though however will try this again in the summer. Only took me 30 min to complete this recipes. Was not hard at all. However the chocolate was a little thick and I had to brushed the chocolate onto the stawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

How to Make Chocolate Strawberries

Watch how to make decadent chocolate-covered strawberries in five easy steps.

Stuffed Strawberries

Fresh strawberries are stuffed with sweetened cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States