Lip-Smacking Popcorn Concoction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This is some really good stuff!! I didn't use the cereal puffs or corn chips since they weren't in my pantry, so I worked with what I had onhand. I used 3 regular sized bags microwave popcorn, 2 cups holiday shaped pretzels, about a cup roasted peanuts, and 1.5 pounds (the whole package) vanilla almond bark. To mix, I turned the lid to my round cake taker/keeper upside down and dumped everything into it and it worked perfectly. Mixed with a large wooden spoon, then poured everything onto parchment paper to dry. Couldn't be easier and absolutely delicious! Thanks so much for a great recipe! :o) UPDATE 12/1/08: For the kids at church, I leave out the peanuts and use M&Ms instead. We've made this by the tons for VBS and other kid functions and they LOVE it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
YUM! This is really good--a perfect mix of salty and sweet. I only used 1 bag of popcorn, as the biggest bowl I had was already overflowing. It still came out just fine. And a second person is definitely helpful, although next time I make this, I think I will divide the ingredients between 2 bowls to manage it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe! It's amazing - I made it for a baby shower and it disappeared! Beware, it makes A LOT and you will be asked for the recipe! One change I tried was to add food coloring to the almond bark (pink for the baby shower) and it turned out very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I've been making this popcorn for years. I try different concoctions all the time. Sometimes I just use the popcorn and almond bark with no other ingredients. My favorite way now is popcorn, almond bark, coconut and chopped macadamia nuts. It might even be good with dried cranberries thrown into the mix. Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was awesome, and so easy! I don't really like Kix or Fritos, so I used popcorn, pretzels, M&Ms, rice Chex, and almonds. Couldn't find "confectioners' coating", but plain white chocolate chips worked just fine. Since I didn't have an assistant, I poured the chocolate with one hand while using tongs to toss the mix with the other hand, and that seemed to work pretty well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I used this as a base recipe and WOW! This stuff is amazing. I used white almond bark, dried cranberries, chopped macadamia nuts, pretzel sticks, and milk chocolate M&Ms. It is so addictive! I made it to package for Christmas goodies, but I better make another batch for myself or else I'm going to eat the gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Super yummy recipe... hits the salty/sweet craving perfectly. A couple notes: 1- The vanilla confectioner's coating is a seasonal thing... couldn't find in 3 grocery stores (and I refused to use the White Chocolate); so I substituted in premium white chips. In making half the recipe, one 12 oz. package of the white chips worked perfectly. 2-I used whole almonds, just a preference... liked it fine. 3-For anyone confused on getting butter-free popcorn, be assured you can still get plain, no butter SALTED popcorn in the bag and this works great... or you could go old style and make your own on the stove! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gimmedatcheesecake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This is some good stuff! It's such an easy snack to make and everyone likes to eat it. At Christmas, I've made it just with the popcorn and Christmas sprinkles--we put it in cellphane bags tied with pretty ribbon and call it white chocolate popcorn then. The kids love to give it out as gifts. Anyway, great recipe. You can tailor it to suit your own tastes (and budget) very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Super duper yummy! A hit with all my friends and family. I followed the recipe exactly except for I used more almond bark than the recipe called for to make it extra sweet. Looks very pretty as a gift in a Christmas tin. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Made this for Christmas. Got rave reviews from everyone. Very addictive, very easy and very inexpensive to make (I bought all store brand ingredients). I used all the measurements from the recipe except that I used the whole almond bark package which is 1 pound 8 oz. instead of just 1 pound. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States