Lion House Wassail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This recipe ROCKS!! I made it for out office as an alternative to coffee. There are 7 of us and the recipe will fill a large crock pot, the oval kind you can fit ribs in. Well the 7 of us killed off the 35 servings the straight recipe will produce. (NOTE: put in the cloves LAST. Cloves when steeping have a time limit. When they steep for too long they'll make the wassail, or whatever they're steeping in, bitter!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Move over mulled cider. This has taken its place at our annual Christmas party. I used cider instead of apple juice, and used just 1 cup of lemon juice so it would be a little sweeter. It was a hit, and fun to serve something "steeped" in tradition. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
This will be my third year to make this recipe and it receives the best compliments ever. We just love it. I originally found the recipe to make for a warm Holiday punch to sell at a Christmas High School Band Concert, I must admit most people did not know what Wassail was but it has caught on rapidly -- people now ask if we are going to have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ore City, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
The best! Try adding red wine... after this was finished simmering I put 1/2 in a pitcher for the kids, and added a whole bottle of cabernet sauvignon to the rest for the adults. A real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is a great recipe for the holidays. If you want to add a little pizazz to the presentation, add a few sliced oranges, lemons and limes to the serving bowl. I insert whole cloves into an apple and let that float as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Excellent! It was a big hit with guests at our open house. It was very sweet so I may reduce the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
Our family and friends really enjoyed this - I had never tried wassail but wanted to. One comment was made that it tasted just like a holiday drink in Germany. I kept it warm in a crock pot - well, actaully it needed several! Lion House recipes really are good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Excellent Wassail. A friend of mine made some awesome Wassail last year and This beat it!. I left out the Ginger Root and it was fantastic. We let everyone spike it with Rum themselves. Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I've been making a version of this recipe for the last 3 years & it's always a favorite. I play around with the juice proportions a bit & now add 2 C of pineapple juice & only 1 C of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Wonderfully spicy and comforting. I kept this warm all day Christmas day, and my guests really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

How to Make French Press Coffee

Four minutes is all it takes for the most flavorful cup of coffee you can make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States