Lion House Wassail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
This will be my third year to make this recipe and it receives the best compliments ever. We just love it. I originally found the recipe to make for a warm Holiday punch to sell at a Christmas High School Band Concert, I must admit most people did not know what Wassail was but it has caught on rapidly -- people now ask if we are going to have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ore City, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
Excellent Wassail. A friend of mine made some awesome Wassail last year and This beat it!. I left out the Ginger Root and it was fantastic. We let everyone spike it with Rum themselves. Great easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
Our family and friends really enjoyed this - I had never tried wassail but wanted to. One comment was made that it tasted just like a holiday drink in Germany. I kept it warm in a crock pot - well, actaully it needed several! Lion House recipes really are good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
Absolutely delicious, my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROJAMIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Wonderfully spicy and comforting. I kept this warm all day Christmas day, and my guests really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Move over mulled cider. This has taken its place at our annual Christmas party. I used cider instead of apple juice, and used just 1 cup of lemon juice so it would be a little sweeter. It was a hit, and fun to serve something "steeped" in tradition. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This was yummy! I usually cut this recipie in half, as that is enough for my family of four. I have made it twice using apple cider both times and I also leave out the ginger. Love it. This will become a holiday staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
Excellent! It was a big hit with guests at our open house. It was very sweet so I may reduce the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2003
Got great raves about this at my Halloween party! Everyone raved! I definitely will save the recipe for Christmas and Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Vernon Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
The best! Try adding red wine... after this was finished simmering I put 1/2 in a pitcher for the kids, and added a whole bottle of cabernet sauvignon to the rest for the adults. A real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

How to Make French Press Coffee

Four minutes is all it takes for the most flavorful cup of coffee you can make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States