Lion House Wassail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This is a good start - I add a lot more spices than it calls for - even punch a whole orange with whole cloves and throw it in the pot. A slow cooker on low is the perfect place to let the flavors come alive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I made half a batch in my crockpot. I added burbon (Jim Beam) and it made a fantastic grownup drink at my holiday party. I'm finishing it up right now... =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
very good, but i would cut down the sugar a bit and add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
this was fantastic! i also used apple cider instead of the juice, and cut back just a bit on the sugar. The color was rich and the smell intoxicating. Definitely a KEEPER :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This recipe was pretty good. You can make it alittle easier, by wrapping the spices in cheese cloth before adding them. You won't have to strain the recipe before serving. Other than that, follow the recipe as given. It's good, but it's sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This recipe is WAAAAAAAY sweet. It reminded me of Jolly Rancher candies. If you can envision drinking Jolly Ranchers in liquid form, and you think you would like it, then you would like this recipe. VERY SWEET and VERY TART.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
I made this for Christmas. It was FABULOUS! I made it in a crockpot and kept it warm all that day. It made the house smell great! Try his recipe, you will be pleased. Even if it not exactly what you want to start off it is so easy to tweak this recipe. Very, very good. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
A big hit with all who have tried it! I like to make a half recipe for just me. I also like to add a little more spice than it calls for--the sweetness of the juice can be a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
FABULOUS!!!!!!! This is so delicious and a huge hit! I used ground ginger instead of fresh. Thanks for a recipe that is a new tradition at our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
The best! Try adding red wine... after this was finished simmering I put 1/2 in a pitcher for the kids, and added a whole bottle of cabernet sauvignon to the rest for the adults. A real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Apple Cider

Nothing beats back a chilly day better than a steaming mug of spiced apple cider.

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States