Lion House Wassail Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This has been a hit every time I make it. I skip the orange juice and use half the lemon juice and add 4 cups of cranberry raspberry cocktail instead. I use a little less of everything to fit it in my large crockpot and I just pour the sugar/spice syrup in there and then add all the other juices and a little water to make it less potent. Then I float some cinnamon sticks and orange and lemon slices in it to make it look festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Way too sour!! I steeped the water, sugar and spices together for an hour, then added rest of ingredients into a crock pot. It smelled good, but the taste is way off. I would not add any lemon juice (or just a 1/2 cup) if I make again. I ended up taking out 4 cups of the liquid and replacing it with 4 cups of warmed apple cider. It was still just OK and company didn't drink much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This is a good start - I add a lot more spices than it calls for - even punch a whole orange with whole cloves and throw it in the pot. A slow cooker on low is the perfect place to let the flavors come alive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I made half a batch in my crockpot. I added burbon (Jim Beam) and it made a fantastic grownup drink at my holiday party. I'm finishing it up right now... =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
very good, but i would cut down the sugar a bit and add more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burleson, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
this was fantastic! i also used apple cider instead of the juice, and cut back just a bit on the sugar. The color was rich and the smell intoxicating. Definitely a KEEPER :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This recipe was pretty good. You can make it alittle easier, by wrapping the spices in cheese cloth before adding them. You won't have to strain the recipe before serving. Other than that, follow the recipe as given. It's good, but it's sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This recipe is WAAAAAAAY sweet. It reminded me of Jolly Rancher candies. If you can envision drinking Jolly Ranchers in liquid form, and you think you would like it, then you would like this recipe. VERY SWEET and VERY TART.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
I made this for Christmas. It was FABULOUS! I made it in a crockpot and kept it warm all that day. It made the house smell great! Try his recipe, you will be pleased. Even if it not exactly what you want to start off it is so easy to tweak this recipe. Very, very good. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
A big hit with all who have tried it! I like to make a half recipe for just me. I also like to add a little more spice than it calls for--the sweetness of the juice can be a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

How to Make French Press Coffee

Four minutes is all it takes for the most flavorful cup of coffee you can make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States