Linzer Torte Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Excellent. A lot of work, but SO worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Logsdon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Great flavour and easy to bake. My son keeps asking if I can bake some more for him to take to school. Teachers love them too.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
These cookies were great! I made them in star shapes with a smaller star cut out of the top cookie. I let them sit over night and served them the next day and they were even better because the cookie absorbed the jam. They were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
These make very pretty cookies, however the flavor was not as profound as I would have liked. I expected more of a lemon flavor which did not come through despite the extra lemon zest that I used. Also, the dough was very sticky and difficult to roll. Overall, they look better than they taste. I won't be adding this to my regular Christmas cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I had to modify this a little due to last minute ingredient shopping. No almonds to be had so I used cashews instead; I also didn't have cloves so I added extra cinnamon. I had a very difficult time with this dough, maybe I should have chilled it. Like some other reviewers, I ended up with some very tasty thumbprint cookies sprinkled w/ some powdered sugar. My husband was a little iffy on taste, but I made them as a gift and the they were well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Amazing! My husband and I loved these! I followed the recipe exactly, except, I made sandwiches instead of the lattice. Definately a keeper! They are definately worth making!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIKEY
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
I didn't find this hard to make at all, and I was very impressed with the dough! I just pressed it into the pan, and for the top I rolled it flat and cut strips. It was much better than the crumbly linzer torte doughs I've dealt with in the past. The smell + taste are great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
The pastry crust is amazing. My friends loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
First time I've made Linzer cookies and it was a success with this recipe. Lots of work, but fun as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These taste great! You just have to be patient and let the cookies soften. Many "European" Christmas cookies are quite hard after baking, but they're supposed to last longer, and usually get better, the longer they're stored! The dough was hard to roll out, but then I used foil to roll them and it worked. I used red currant jam - as in the real Linzer Torte. Give them a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graz, Steiermark, Austria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States