Linzer Torte Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shar44
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I make these every year at Christmas time for gifts and for my family. I decided to try a new recipe this past Christmas, and this is by far the best one ever! To make things easier, I used almond flour (or meal) by Red Mill. Also, to make cutting out the cookies easier, I rolled it out between two sheets of waxed paper, then stuck that in the fridge for about a half hour. Cutting and transferring to cookies sheets lined with parchment was easy peasy after that! They came out perfect, and had such a great flavor. I used raspberry jam for the filling, first laying down a very thin layer of semi-sweet chocolate before putting jam over it, then topping with the cutout cookie. I always sprinkle powdered sugar on the top cookies only before assembling. This recipe is a total keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shar44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Branch, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Very labor intensive; however, the results are the best ever. They are best around the Holidays. Have a best friend give you a hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Bullard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Made exactly according to the recipe, with linzer cookie cutters. So good! Everyone loved these. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Reinhard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
After making the first sheet of cookies, working with the dough was so difficult that I swore I would never do it again. HOWEVER after tasting one, I changed my thinking completely. These are incredibly buttery and flaky. Very subtle flavor. I used homemade Austrian apricot preserves for the filling. The contrast of the slightly sweet cookie with the tart preserves makes a perfect cookie. It's all about the finished look and the taste. Get over the fact that the dough is a bear to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
For some reason, didn't work out for me, maybe because of my margarine substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is a great recipe. I am from Eastern Europe so we made these growing up, but this recipe is actually much better than the one we had. The cookies are supposed to be dry when they come out of the oven, but they soften with time. That's why we always made these a couple of weeks before Christmas. The dough was very easy to work with and the cookies came out looking great. They didn't puff up at all. They are very tasty as well. The trick to get them soft faster after they are assembled is to put them in an air-tight container with a few apple pieces overnight. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trencín, Trenciansky Kraj, Slovakia
Living In: Farmington, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I just finished making a double batch of these cookies and I must say that I am very proud of my efforts. The cookies are beautiful, and the taste is exceptional. I didn't blanch the almonds, but I did toast them in a dry iron skillet before grinding them in a recently purchased coffee grinder. The dough was flattened into a disk and wrapped in plastic wrap before chilling over-night. I used parchment paper on my baking sheets and had no trouble removing them after they finished baking. The cookies were fairly labor intensive, but then I think any rolled cookie is work! I will be proud to include them on my Christmas cookie trays this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queennana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I am in Kathmandu with limited ingredients and machines, but this recipe worked perfectly. I made it as a free-standing torte on a baking sheet since the dough could stand up at the sides and stay up through baking. I made the base by pressing it, and rolled out the other half and cut strips for a lattice. Sticky and breaking but doable. I ground whole almonds with their skins in the blender; some were still in small bits and some were pulverized. I used semi-whole wheat flour since that's what I had; and omitted cloves since I don't like them. I didn't have exact measurements but the recipe came out delicious. I used our homemade apricot jam, which is tart, so one batch I mixed in extra sugar, but actually we liked the one with tart jam much better. A local Nepali lady asked me eagerly for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This is by far and away the best linzer torte recipe! The dough is a little hard to work with (as expected), but the flavor is spectacular and makes any extra effort totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny333

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This was a good linzer torte recipe. I didn't think the dough was very hard to work with; I think it depends on how finely you grind your almonds. I blanched whole almonds and ground them a handful at a time in a blender. When I filled the blender past the top part of the blade, I got larger pieces of almonds. This technique also seemed to work better with perfectly dry (after blanching and peeling) almonds. As another reviewer suggested, rolling out the dough between two pieces of plastic wrap worked really well, too. I made a small tart and about eight filled cookies with this recipe. The tart took longer than 40 minutes to bake; 50 minutes with an egg wash was more like it, but it came out really well. A note about the jam: go ahead and spread it almost to the edge; it doesn't "spread out" like I thought it might during baking. Overall, these cookies were a lot of work, but for me that is part of the fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Gingerbread Cookies II

See how to make simple, 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States