Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
The end result of these is nothing short of fantastic, but as others have said the dough is very tempermental. It was so time consuming that I felt that it wasn't worth the effort. The cookies however, were to die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catiebrooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Most authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Time consuming, but they taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
These were fantastic!!!! I followed the advice of others and ground the almonds into a powder...it just works better. I also froze the dough in three balls, for about 2 hours, and they rolled out fine. A tip I learned...sandwich the dough between wax paper before you roll it out. It is easier to peel the dough off paper than a rolling pin. I also us3ed strawberry preserves and they were so yummy. Definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I made these as a special request from my husband, but he found them not to be what he was hoping for. The dough seemed too nutty. They still tasted good. I thought that the dough was easier to work with when it was a little warmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
These tasted good, but I doubt I will never make this recipe again. I was looking for a good linzer recipe so I wouldn't have to pay $2 each for them at the bakery, but after attempting this disaster I will gladly pay the money. The dough is impossible to work with, even after putting it in the freezer post-rolling. Then, once they are cooked, they break incredibly easily. I was making these for a cookie exchange, and I won the "best in show" award for them, but they weren't worth the work. By far the most frustrating cookie I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
These were terrific!!! Used another reviewer's suggestion and rolled into a ball and then put a thumb print. Used a squeezeable raspberry jam and worked great. Received many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Fantastic - worth every effort. We warmed red raspberry preserves (the NY bakeries all seem to use it). Next time I might make the cookies a little thicker to help stop from breaking so easily. DEFINATELY cool in fridge for at least 4 hours. The finer the almonds the better and a mixture would probably be nice for variety. To start the rolling process I found it easier to flatten by hand as much as possible then roll but definately keep as cool as possible. Parchment paper made it easy to work with after cooking. Better than bakery :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA
Living In: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Awesome cookies! I used "squeeze" preserves, which are a definite time saver. Don't know why, but I got 32 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I never made linzer tarts before, but I've eaten plenty of them. These were exquisite. They are buttery and nutty and delicious. Much better than a bakery's filled with hydrogenated soy junk. I didn't have trouble with the dough as others did. It will harden if made with real butter, and you MUST use real butter or don't bother to make them. In fact, I had to let mine warm up a bit to roll it out. Keep the flour handy to prevent sticking. I suggest to grind the nuts very fine (I will next time!) The baked cookies are delicate. I used Hero preserves with great success (they are thick and not runny) and heart shaped cookie cutters (a medium and a tiny one.) They are better the next day when they soften a little and glue together. I brought these to a cookie exchange party where they were a big hit and people kept asking if I made them. These are sure to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States