Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
The cookie itself is a very light...melt in your mouth cookie. That being said...I could not roll out this dough to save my life. I did refrigerate the dough overnight and when I tried to roll the dough out it just crumbled. So...I took the advice from my reviewer who suggested making a small ball and then pressing it flat on the cookie sheet. Worked for me. Not as pretting looking but tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I've been using this recipe for a few years and it is a big hit every time. It is worth the extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcyjill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I was initially concerned making these, primarily because I thought rolling out the dough would be a nightmare. I was determined not to deal with the sticky mess so I split the dough into 4 sections instead of 2 - and tossed in the freezer for 15/20 min. I was more generous with the flour when rolling out (unlike the original recipe suggested) and had absolutely no problem at all. I used a very small/thin spatula to lift the dough and place on baking parchment to completely avoid breakage, worked like a charm. Same with the tops. IF the dough starts to run dry from so much re-rolling (yes, they are alot of work but WELL worth it in the end!) I added a touch of butter, reworked into dough, rewrapped and tossed back in freezer for a few more min. My baking time however was only about 8 min per cookie, I think I really rolled them much thinner than recipe required because I was able to make 50 - yes 50 cookies with this recipe. And yes, they were still 2 1/2 inch cookies. I will try rolling them out thicker next time but they were absolutely PERFECT once I put the jam on and let set overnight. Once the jam absorbs into the cookie it's nice and tender, literaly melts in your mouth. Enjoy everyone, these were definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rottys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somers, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
these are good but, man! a lot of work! This was the first time ever making these and they turned out great which is a big plus for me for such an intensive cookie. They are definitely a once a year cookie, but everyone I gave them to for Christmas loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillaurabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This recipe is delicious! Brought these into work and people loved them. Definitely chill the dough - it makes it a lot easier to work with. Awesome linzer tarts! Edit: I originally rated this recipe 5 stars, but have downgraded it to four *as written*. What makes this a 5 star recipe (in addition to making the dough much, much, much easier to work with), is using a mixture of nuts. The first three times I made these I used a combination of almonds, pecans, and walnuts, and I could not understand why people had trouble with dough being crumbly. The one time I followed the recipe to a T, the dough was absolutely unworkable. Use about 1/2 and 1/2 almonds and pecans and this dough rolls out extremely well, with very few issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomona, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
this recipe did not work....i followed it completely and it did not turn out....i will be off to the bakery to buy them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This recipe is great just as is. Not sure why anyone would want to change it. The dough can be difficult to work with, but sprinkle flour as needed and it will be fine. Great cookie! I also tried them without jam and they melt in your mouth. They are a crumbly cookie, so you have to be careful when moving them around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I just made those Tarts for Valentines.. So delicious.... Just use more flour when you roll them out, and put them on Parchment paper when you bake them.... You will have no problemm A big hit!!! I cout out Hearts !!! Just beautiful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Awesome recipe! just like grandma used to make. I took a suggestion, and mixed pecans with the almonds, it does taste better. I found the dough was hard to work with after cutting them, try rolling the dough out on waxed paper then feezing them about 15 min they then come off the wax paper stiff and wont break. Heating the jam works great it bonds the cookies together so they wont slide appart. They are also much better the next day once the jam has a chance to set. It wont take long for them to disapear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marshmallow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I grew up eating Linzer Tarts, so I was extremely excited to make them for the first time using this recipe after all the good reviews. I bought some festive linzer cookie cutters from Crate & Barrel that I wanted to break in, but I was sorely disappointed with the outcome. The dough was very sticky and difficult to work with, and after all the hard work of using the cookie cutters to make the top/bottoms of the cookies I was unhappy to see the dough spreading as it baked. The cookies themselves tasted good but looked less than desirable. I probably will look elsewhere for a recipe when I finally get up the energy to make these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakebean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States