Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I made these cookies a few years ago and now everyone wants them every Christmas! The only thing I do differently is I make the cookies smaller, by making small balls and putting a thumb print in each to fill with jam. This way I get a lot more out of the recipe :) They are the greatest!!!!! PS- My finance loves them- so that should say it all lol! Sorry I haven't rated these sooner. They are quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
Excellently crisp linzer. The dough was sticky and I had to use a more heavily floured board for rolling out the dough, but I was able to manage it... eventually. I also substituted 1 cup of walnuts instead of 1.75 cup almonds (did not have any in the kitchen... at this time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
Linzer Tarts are my boyfriend's all time favorite cookies. I make them for him only twice a year at Christmas and Valentine's Day. Best recipe I've found for Linzer Tarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
Delicious Linzer Tart recipe. Very crispy and tasty. They take a bit long to make but are well worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
Wow! these are way better than I expected, though the dough is hard to work with if you do not chill it after you roll it out. Very buttery and nutty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
I ran out of almonds in the middle, so I mixed some hazelnuts into the blend. These tasted great. I used heart shaped cookie cutters to pathetically romantic sandwiches for my boyfriend. This dough is tough to work with because it gets incredibly sticky and it doesn't hold together well, but if you can manage it, the cookie tastes fabulous. Thanks Regina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
I did not have any problems with the dough (I prefer not to refrigerate - keeps the dough more pliable). I also subsituted hazelnuts instead of almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Wonderful cookie. The dough can be a tiny bit tricky at first, but once you get the feel of it, it's easy. (All doughs seem to have their own personalities) The cookie part came out light and just crispy enough without being brittle, not too sweet, with a lovely flavor from the almonds. I used seedless raspberry preserves in my tarts, (personal preference) it makes spreading the preserves and assembling the cookies easier. Even my Grandmother was impressed, and she's one of the most accomplished cooks I've ever met. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
my family and friends enjoyed them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
Don't be afraid of this recipe... it's delicious. Here are some helpful hints (from mistakes I've made). Grind the almonds REALLY fine- otherwise the cookies will tend to crumble. Serve them the day you make them, or the jam will seep into the cookie. They still taste delicious, but they will not look as pretty. (You can always keep them and eat them yourself). Be sure to refrigerate the dough. The longer the better. The dough is a little tricky to work with and a little sticky, but I promise it's worth it and you will get better each time you make them. I tried to make hearts, but the cookies are so flaky that it was hard to keep the hearts from cracking because there wasn't much cookie by the time I cut out the middle. Circles are definitely the way to go, but don't make the inner circle too big. These are absolutely delicious. They are as good as the ones I used to buy in the Italian bakery in Brooklyn and are now a standard recipe for Christmas in my recipe box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States