Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
These were delicious as well as beautiful, and got RAVE reviews from all who ate them, although they were tedious to make (I doubled the recipe). Using parchment paper on the cookie sheets enabled me to slip the cookies right off without breaking them. I also used unheated squeezable seedless raspberry jam with good success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Excellent recipe for authentic tasting linzer tarts. These were even better the next day when the jam softened the cookie a little bit. I forgot to add the cinnamon by mistake and they still tasted incredible. They are labor intensive but I had fun rolling the dough and cutting out the shapes. You just have to gingerly handle everything. The end product is worth the effort. Linzer cookies cost $1.50 each in the bakery! This recipe makes about 30 cookies and they taste BETTER than the bakery. My mother could not believe that I made them, she said they looked so professional. I can't wait to make them in heart shapes for Valentine's Day. Thank you for a true 5 star recipe!!! NOTE: I have made these fantastic cookies numerous times and the most important piece of advice I can give is after to roll your dough out onto a pieice of wax paper and place the wax paper with the impressions in the freezer for 5 minutes. THEN, remove the rounded cut out shapes. If you do it when the dough is cold, your cookies will not break. Also, I just use Smuckers squeezable raspberry preserves, you do not have to warm the preserves. Anytime you have trouble with this dough just chill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
These are unbelievably delicious and taste and look like authentic linzer cookies you would buy in a bakery. They are alot of work though, but in my opinion worth it for a christmas cookie tray. They dough was very difficult to work with so here is what I did. I refrigerated overnight. I took about a quarter of the dough and warmed it/kneaded it in my hands and placed it on top of a piece of parchment so it wouldn't stick. I then pressed down on it to begin to flatten it. Then I sprinkled it with flour and floured my rolling pin as I started to roll it. There were times that it stuck to the rolling pin or crumbled a bit but I just picked up the pieces and re rolled. The resulting cookies are light, almondy, buttery.........just delicious, impressive. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. Oh, also! I did not heat any raspberry preserves! I just bought the Smuckers squeezable seedless raspberry jam; worked perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
This recipe just didn't work for me. I've been making Linzer Tarts for several years now but misplaced my original recipe. Maybe it was me, but the dough would not cooperate. The first few turned out O.K. but then the dough got very sticky and no matter how much flour I used for the board or how many times I re-chilled the dough, it just kept falling apart. I ended up making thumb print cookies which spread and didn't turn out very pretty. As I said, it may have been me. So sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
Don't be afraid of this recipe... it's delicious. Here are some helpful hints (from mistakes I've made). Grind the almonds REALLY fine- otherwise the cookies will tend to crumble. Serve them the day you make them, or the jam will seep into the cookie. They still taste delicious, but they will not look as pretty. (You can always keep them and eat them yourself). Be sure to refrigerate the dough. The longer the better. The dough is a little tricky to work with and a little sticky, but I promise it's worth it and you will get better each time you make them. I tried to make hearts, but the cookies are so flaky that it was hard to keep the hearts from cracking because there wasn't much cookie by the time I cut out the middle. Circles are definitely the way to go, but don't make the inner circle too big. These are absolutely delicious. They are as good as the ones I used to buy in the Italian bakery in Brooklyn and are now a standard recipe for Christmas in my recipe box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This recipe makes absolutely beautiful presentation. I liked the cookies even better the next day as they soften a bit. I do agree that the jam must be warmed in order to get that "gluey" affect. My family raved about them and my hubby's co-workers all want the recipe. While they are not my personal favorite as I tend to lean towards goodies with chocolate in them, they were very well received. Again, the presentation was absolutely gift-worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I made these cookies a few years ago and now everyone wants them every Christmas! The only thing I do differently is I make the cookies smaller, by making small balls and putting a thumb print in each to fill with jam. This way I get a lot more out of the recipe :) They are the greatest!!!!! PS- My finance loves them- so that should say it all lol! Sorry I haven't rated these sooner. They are quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This is a good basic recipe for linzer cookies. I suggest the following adjustments for best results: 1. refrigerate dough overnight if possible, or at least 4 hours, since it might otherwise crumble. 2. Use a mixture of ground nuts (such as almonds, hazelnuts and pecans) for a more wholesome flavor. 3. When the tops are cooled, dust them with powdered sugar. Don't do it after assembling! This way the sugar doesn't cover the cut out center. 4. You must heat the rasberry jam (which means you need an entire jar because it reduces.) Simmer until thick and then spread on you cookie. This will prevent the tops from sliding off. When you heat the jam, it gets gluey, and yields a nice chewy consistency when the cookie is cooled. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
my family and friends enjoyed them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Wonderful cookie. The dough can be a tiny bit tricky at first, but once you get the feel of it, it's easy. (All doughs seem to have their own personalities) The cookie part came out light and just crispy enough without being brittle, not too sweet, with a lovely flavor from the almonds. I used seedless raspberry preserves in my tarts, (personal preference) it makes spreading the preserves and assembling the cookies easier. Even my Grandmother was impressed, and she's one of the most accomplished cooks I've ever met. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States