Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
My son made these for the county fair and was selected to take them to the state fair. They are so fantastic! We rolled them out between parchment paper layers and then put it in the freezer for a few minutes to make it easier to work with. We also cooked the raspberry preserves to make it stickier. We sprinkled the top hot from the oven so the jam stayed clear. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyLyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hubbard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I thought that this recipe was delicious. everyone loved it! Personally I didn't think that the dough was that hard to work with, but after reading a lot of these reviews a lot of people said it was. One suggestion i have is to just put the dough in the freezer for 15 minutes every time the dough starts to thaw out (about every 15 minutes). Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
i have made several different varieties of this recipe and most call for seedless raspberry jam which i find better than regular raspberry jam. otherwise, a very good recipe, a keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROUNYDGRL1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sea Girt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Warning-- This dough is very fragile. Since little pieces keep breaking and I have a tendency to "hide" the little broken pieces in my mouth, next time I'll try a different recipe. It's not that it is too much work, it's just really tricky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
WOW! What a great cookie!! I found the dough easy to work with. After it's chilled keep a light coat of flour on it to prevent sticking with the remaining dough still in the fridge. Easy and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Used linzer tart cookie cutters. I had a hard time rolling out the dough. Next time I won't chill the dough as long. I rolled the dough between parchment paper. Using the cutters I got about 40 per batch. Really tasty and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5galsandadad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Made it and Love them. I didn't heat the jam, like one person suggested. Some off the tops slid off and jam kind of soaked through the top. I will heat the jam next time for a more chewy center. And keep the dough as cold as possible without freezing is key! Yummy and worth the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
best cookie Ive ever had. Freeze the dough for at least an hr and cook the jelly on the stove. To crush the almonds, I took a hammer and banged the heck out of the bag and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
everyone really enjoys these they are a special treat that I only make around the holidays b/c they are a lot of work! My aunt bought me a liner tart cutting kit for Christmas last year so I would make them again,it doesn't make it any easier though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
It's hard to review this recipe. On one hand, they were some of the best cookies I've ever had. On the other hand, the dough was nearly impossible to work with. I omitted the cinnamon and added 1 tsp. fresh lemon zest and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and froze the dough after rolling and cutting and that is definitely a necessary step. However, my freezer is completely empty (I've just moved) and if my freezer had been full, I wouldn't have had room to freeze the cookie sheet. I'd try these again, but perhaps just roll the dough into balls, make an indentation, and fill with jam before baking. The taste is wonderful. It's definitely worth playing around with. UPDATE: I took my own suggestion and rolled the dough into balls, indented, filled with jam, baked, and dusted with confectioner's sugar. They were just perfect, and the first cookies to disappear at Christmastime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 61-70 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States