Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
so so good, did not change a thing and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Knocked off a star because the dough is difficult to work with. And I actually use an additional 1/4 cup of butter for this recipe, making the dough even more temperamental. But for those of you who are not fanatical about appearances and don't mind if they look a little too "homemade", you can actually roll the dough into a log (approx 2.5in in diameter), refrigerate it, then slice it using a width of 1/8in. The only reason it doesn't make for a very "professional"-looking cookie is because once you throw the log into the fridge, the bottom flattens out. I guess you could use a paper towel roll or something to keep it from flattening. Anyway, 4 stars overall - these cookies are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
After making the first sheet of cookies, working with the dough was so difficult that I swore I would never do it again. HOWEVER after tasting one, I changed my thinking completely. These are incredibly buttery and flaky. Very subtle flavor. I used homemade Austrian apricot preserves for the filling. The contrast of the slightly sweet cookie with the tart preserves makes a perfect cookie. It's all about the finished look and the taste. Get over the fact that the dough is a bear to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barig22
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Seriously, the most incredible tasting Linzer Tarts next to Dortoni's Bakery in Long Island, NY! I made SLIGHT changes but still gave the 5 stars because I only changed for personal preferences, NOT because the recipe did not work. MY CHANGES: Nucoa, instead of butter (needed to keep non-dairy), used 1 c. almonds, 3/4 c. Pecans (more flavor). HINTS: HINT #1: Split dough into 3 packages and roll 1 at a time, refrigerating in-between as much as possible. Dough softens VERY quickly. HINT #2: Be GENEROUS with flour on your rolling board AND on your pin. Dip Cutter in flour. Reflour a dusting with each roll, even a pat is fine. Throw flour on the board and flour on your dough - you will have a MUCH easier time and will not change dough! Think Flour happy! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Awesome and easy!!! Perfect for Christmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CreativeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Use powdered sugar when re-rolling the dough so they don't get too dry and crumbly. For neater presentation Dust the baked and cooled half with the hole with confectioners sugar before topping with the jam covered half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2bakestuff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Good recipe. A few hints. Get whole almonds, and bake them at 350 for about 15-20 minute. This brings out the oil in the almonds,, and the kitchen smells great. Best is to chop them finely in a food processor. I also put my rolling pin in the frezzer for 30 minutes before I roll out the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
great, great... and easy, I'm not a baker (or a cook) but this was a hit at my Easter dinner..Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I thought these would be too dry based on the amount of nuts vs. other ingredients. I must say they are perfect. Made them for my annual Christmas coolie swap and they were a big hit. Followed the recipe exactly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Ok you have to have the patience of a saint if you intend to refrigerate them for an hour and then attempt to roll them out. However, these are very, very tasty! I'm taking off one star because they were difficult to make. I also had to change the oven temp to 350 since they were not getting browned at all at 325. I baked them for the full 15 minutes (though my cookies were a bit thick, if yours are thin maybe less time). My advice - refrigerate overnight (at least, I refrigerated the dough for a week since I didn't have the time to roll them out), divide the dough into 2 sections and instead of forming into a ball before you refrigerate, form into a thick pancake, which will make it easier to roll out without crumbling. Use lots of flour when rolling, and don't roll too hard - a light touch works fine. I made three versions: one with 1 tsp. lemon zest and pecans instead of almonds; one with 1 tsp. orange zest, hazelnuts instead of almonds, and chocolate instead of jam; and one with 1 tsp. ground ginger and apricot jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States