Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
This is a good basic recipe for linzer cookies. I suggest the following adjustments for best results: 1. refrigerate dough overnight if possible, or at least 4 hours, since it might otherwise crumble. 2. Use a mixture of ground nuts (such as almonds, hazelnuts and pecans) for a more wholesome flavor. 3. When the tops are cooled, dust them with powdered sugar. Don't do it after assembling! This way the sugar doesn't cover the cut out center. 4. You must heat the rasberry jam (which means you need an entire jar because it reduces.) Simmer until thick and then spread on you cookie. This will prevent the tops from sliding off. When you heat the jam, it gets gluey, and yields a nice chewy consistency when the cookie is cooled. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
Excellent recipe for authentic tasting linzer tarts. These were even better the next day when the jam softened the cookie a little bit. I forgot to add the cinnamon by mistake and they still tasted incredible. They are labor intensive but I had fun rolling the dough and cutting out the shapes. You just have to gingerly handle everything. The end product is worth the effort. Linzer cookies cost $1.50 each in the bakery! This recipe makes about 30 cookies and they taste BETTER than the bakery. My mother could not believe that I made them, she said they looked so professional. I can't wait to make them in heart shapes for Valentine's Day. Thank you for a true 5 star recipe!!! NOTE: I have made these fantastic cookies numerous times and the most important piece of advice I can give is after to roll your dough out onto a pieice of wax paper and place the wax paper with the impressions in the freezer for 5 minutes. THEN, remove the rounded cut out shapes. If you do it when the dough is cold, your cookies will not break. Also, I just use Smuckers squeezable raspberry preserves, you do not have to warm the preserves. Anytime you have trouble with this dough just chill it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
Don't be afraid of this recipe... it's delicious. Here are some helpful hints (from mistakes I've made). Grind the almonds REALLY fine- otherwise the cookies will tend to crumble. Serve them the day you make them, or the jam will seep into the cookie. They still taste delicious, but they will not look as pretty. (You can always keep them and eat them yourself). Be sure to refrigerate the dough. The longer the better. The dough is a little tricky to work with and a little sticky, but I promise it's worth it and you will get better each time you make them. I tried to make hearts, but the cookies are so flaky that it was hard to keep the hearts from cracking because there wasn't much cookie by the time I cut out the middle. Circles are definitely the way to go, but don't make the inner circle too big. These are absolutely delicious. They are as good as the ones I used to buy in the Italian bakery in Brooklyn and are now a standard recipe for Christmas in my recipe box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycamper26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
It's hard to review this recipe. On one hand, they were some of the best cookies I've ever had. On the other hand, the dough was nearly impossible to work with. I omitted the cinnamon and added 1 tsp. fresh lemon zest and 1 tsp. vanilla extract. I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and froze the dough after rolling and cutting and that is definitely a necessary step. However, my freezer is completely empty (I've just moved) and if my freezer had been full, I wouldn't have had room to freeze the cookie sheet. I'd try these again, but perhaps just roll the dough into balls, make an indentation, and fill with jam before baking. The taste is wonderful. It's definitely worth playing around with. UPDATE: I took my own suggestion and rolled the dough into balls, indented, filled with jam, baked, and dusted with confectioner's sugar. They were just perfect, and the first cookies to disappear at Christmastime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I never made linzer tarts before, but I've eaten plenty of them. These were exquisite. They are buttery and nutty and delicious. Much better than a bakery's filled with hydrogenated soy junk. I didn't have trouble with the dough as others did. It will harden if made with real butter, and you MUST use real butter or don't bother to make them. In fact, I had to let mine warm up a bit to roll it out. Keep the flour handy to prevent sticking. I suggest to grind the nuts very fine (I will next time!) The baked cookies are delicate. I used Hero preserves with great success (they are thick and not runny) and heart shaped cookie cutters (a medium and a tiny one.) They are better the next day when they soften a little and glue together. I brought these to a cookie exchange party where they were a big hit and people kept asking if I made them. These are sure to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I was initially concerned making these, primarily because I thought rolling out the dough would be a nightmare. I was determined not to deal with the sticky mess so I split the dough into 4 sections instead of 2 - and tossed in the freezer for 15/20 min. I was more generous with the flour when rolling out (unlike the original recipe suggested) and had absolutely no problem at all. I used a very small/thin spatula to lift the dough and place on baking parchment to completely avoid breakage, worked like a charm. Same with the tops. IF the dough starts to run dry from so much re-rolling (yes, they are alot of work but WELL worth it in the end!) I added a touch of butter, reworked into dough, rewrapped and tossed back in freezer for a few more min. My baking time however was only about 8 min per cookie, I think I really rolled them much thinner than recipe required because I was able to make 50 - yes 50 cookies with this recipe. And yes, they were still 2 1/2 inch cookies. I will try rolling them out thicker next time but they were absolutely PERFECT once I put the jam on and let set overnight. Once the jam absorbs into the cookie it's nice and tender, literaly melts in your mouth. Enjoy everyone, these were definitely worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rottys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Somers, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Used linzer tart cookie cutters. I had a hard time rolling out the dough. Next time I won't chill the dough as long. I rolled the dough between parchment paper. Using the cutters I got about 40 per batch. Really tasty and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5galsandadad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I made these cookies a few years ago and now everyone wants them every Christmas! The only thing I do differently is I make the cookies smaller, by making small balls and putting a thumb print in each to fill with jam. This way I get a lot more out of the recipe :) They are the greatest!!!!! PS- My finance loves them- so that should say it all lol! Sorry I haven't rated these sooner. They are quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Wonderful cookie. The dough can be a tiny bit tricky at first, but once you get the feel of it, it's easy. (All doughs seem to have their own personalities) The cookie part came out light and just crispy enough without being brittle, not too sweet, with a lovely flavor from the almonds. I used seedless raspberry preserves in my tarts, (personal preference) it makes spreading the preserves and assembling the cookies easier. Even my Grandmother was impressed, and she's one of the most accomplished cooks I've ever met. Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2000
Excellently crisp linzer. The dough was sticky and I had to use a more heavily floured board for rolling out the dough, but I was able to manage it... eventually. I also substituted 1 cup of walnuts instead of 1.75 cup almonds (did not have any in the kitchen... at this time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States