Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
These are really fabulous - very Christmasy! I did have trouble with the dough, but followed what the other reviewers said and kept chilling the dough whenever it became too soft (in between rolling out, and before removing the centers from the cutout cookies!). I used a combination of ground almonds and pecans, as that's what was on hand and they turned out fabulously. To get the nuts ground into a powder, I cleaned out my coffee grinder! Would definitely recommend this, as it made for a nice smooth dough. The cookies still do come out very delicate. I would definitely recommend only rolling them to 1/4 inch thin, as any thinner and they fall apart. Will definitely be making these for Christmas cookie gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheshire, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I made these for my family and they were gone in an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Sanibel Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
My family has made these cookies for generations and I wanted to try a slightly different recipe. TIPS: Don't be afraid to flour the dough as you roll to keep it from sticking. The cookies won't break with you cut the holes in the top if you don't overcook them. Cut the holes IMMEDIATELY after you get them out of the oven while still hot to keep them soft while cutting the hole. Dip the cookies in powdered suger IMMEDIATELY after getting them out of the oven to get the sugar to really stick to the cookie. They are hard work...but there is no better cookie. And there won't be a soul who doesn't want the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
You better believe this was a great cookie. Yes,it's a tough dough to work with, but no worse than cookie cutters with shortbread dough. I purchased special cookie cutters for this which made it that much easier and prettier. I was asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
The end result of these is nothing short of fantastic, but as others have said the dough is very tempermental. It was so time consuming that I felt that it wasn't worth the effort. The cookies however, were to die for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catiebrooke

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Most authentic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Time consuming, but they taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
These were fantastic!!!! I followed the advice of others and ground the almonds into a powder...it just works better. I also froze the dough in three balls, for about 2 hours, and they rolled out fine. A tip I learned...sandwich the dough between wax paper before you roll it out. It is easier to peel the dough off paper than a rolling pin. I also us3ed strawberry preserves and they were so yummy. Definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Jefferson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I made these as a special request from my husband, but he found them not to be what he was hoping for. The dough seemed too nutty. They still tasted good. I thought that the dough was easier to work with when it was a little warmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
These tasted good, but I doubt I will never make this recipe again. I was looking for a good linzer recipe so I wouldn't have to pay $2 each for them at the bakery, but after attempting this disaster I will gladly pay the money. The dough is impossible to work with, even after putting it in the freezer post-rolling. Then, once they are cooked, they break incredibly easily. I was making these for a cookie exchange, and I won the "best in show" award for them, but they weren't worth the work. By far the most frustrating cookie I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States