Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I grew up eating Linzer Tarts, so I was extremely excited to make them for the first time using this recipe after all the good reviews. I bought some festive linzer cookie cutters from Crate & Barrel that I wanted to break in, but I was sorely disappointed with the outcome. The dough was very sticky and difficult to work with, and after all the hard work of using the cookie cutters to make the top/bottoms of the cookies I was unhappy to see the dough spreading as it baked. The cookies themselves tasted good but looked less than desirable. I probably will look elsewhere for a recipe when I finally get up the energy to make these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakebean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was my first time making the Linzer Tart style of cookies. I even found a great set of the Linzer Tart cookie cutters on eBay for a good price. These cookies were a bit time consuming but they were wonderful and got rave reviews from everyone who tried them. I made the dough one evening then was unable to make the cookies so the dough was in the fridge for a few days before I had time again to actually make the cookies...believe me, the dough stiffened up. I actually had to leave it set out a while beforeI could use it. After each roll-out of dough I would keep adding in a bit of the cold dough which seemed to keep it at the perfect consistency. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mycupofjoe
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I don't know if I use a smaller cutter, but I got well over 3 dozen cookies from one batch. LOL At any rate, I get nothing but raves on these cookies. I don't follow the recipe to T, I adjust and eyeball. I prefer more cinnamon and I also add vanilla extract (to taste). Sometimes I have to keep in fridge overnight, other times it's harder after 2 hours. Depends on how late I make them. ;) I also recommend warming the preserves a bit, makes it spread out easier. For the confectioners sugar, I take the tops of the cookies and dust them first, then put the whole cookie together. Got a batch of dough in the fridge right now. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mycupofjoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I agree with the other commenters - a delicious cookie with a required effort that's justifiable only once or twice a year. The cookies tasted fantastic, and I had no trouble rolling out the dough (between two pieces of waxed paper after being chilled overnight). But they crumbled apart coming off the baking sheet. I heated preserves and that helped glue them back together - and the dusted sugar covered up the mistakes. But I gave up halfway through and made the thumbprint cookies that other reviewers suggested, and they were just as delicious, so that's what I'll stick with. Also, I used margarine (vegan) so that may have been part of the crumbly problem, but they still tasted lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Excellent cookie, though we combined two recipes...used the spices from the other Linzer cookie on this site (cloves, cinn, and lemon rind/zest) Was a yummy combination, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
ABSOLUTELY "DELICIOUS" AND THANK YOU FOR SHARING YOUR RECIPE.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
My son made these for the county fair and was selected to take them to the state fair. They are so fantastic! We rolled them out between parchment paper layers and then put it in the freezer for a few minutes to make it easier to work with. We also cooked the raspberry preserves to make it stickier. We sprinkled the top hot from the oven so the jam stayed clear. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyLyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hubbard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I thought that this recipe was delicious. everyone loved it! Personally I didn't think that the dough was that hard to work with, but after reading a lot of these reviews a lot of people said it was. One suggestion i have is to just put the dough in the freezer for 15 minutes every time the dough starts to thaw out (about every 15 minutes). Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
i have made several different varieties of this recipe and most call for seedless raspberry jam which i find better than regular raspberry jam. otherwise, a very good recipe, a keeper for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROUNYDGRL1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sea Girt, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Warning-- This dough is very fragile. Since little pieces keep breaking and I have a tendency to "hide" the little broken pieces in my mouth, next time I'll try a different recipe. It's not that it is too much work, it's just really tricky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States