Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
these are good but, man! a lot of work! This was the first time ever making these and they turned out great which is a big plus for me for such an intensive cookie. They are definitely a once a year cookie, but everyone I gave them to for Christmas loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillaurabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This recipe is delicious! Brought these into work and people loved them. Definitely chill the dough - it makes it a lot easier to work with. Awesome linzer tarts! Edit: I originally rated this recipe 5 stars, but have downgraded it to four *as written*. What makes this a 5 star recipe (in addition to making the dough much, much, much easier to work with), is using a mixture of nuts. The first three times I made these I used a combination of almonds, pecans, and walnuts, and I could not understand why people had trouble with dough being crumbly. The one time I followed the recipe to a T, the dough was absolutely unworkable. Use about 1/2 and 1/2 almonds and pecans and this dough rolls out extremely well, with very few issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomona, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
this recipe did not work....i followed it completely and it did not turn out....i will be off to the bakery to buy them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This recipe is great just as is. Not sure why anyone would want to change it. The dough can be difficult to work with, but sprinkle flour as needed and it will be fine. Great cookie! I also tried them without jam and they melt in your mouth. They are a crumbly cookie, so you have to be careful when moving them around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I just made those Tarts for Valentines.. So delicious.... Just use more flour when you roll them out, and put them on Parchment paper when you bake them.... You will have no problemm A big hit!!! I cout out Hearts !!! Just beautiful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Awesome recipe! just like grandma used to make. I took a suggestion, and mixed pecans with the almonds, it does taste better. I found the dough was hard to work with after cutting them, try rolling the dough out on waxed paper then feezing them about 15 min they then come off the wax paper stiff and wont break. Heating the jam works great it bonds the cookies together so they wont slide appart. They are also much better the next day once the jam has a chance to set. It wont take long for them to disapear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marshmallow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I grew up eating Linzer Tarts, so I was extremely excited to make them for the first time using this recipe after all the good reviews. I bought some festive linzer cookie cutters from Crate & Barrel that I wanted to break in, but I was sorely disappointed with the outcome. The dough was very sticky and difficult to work with, and after all the hard work of using the cookie cutters to make the top/bottoms of the cookies I was unhappy to see the dough spreading as it baked. The cookies themselves tasted good but looked less than desirable. I probably will look elsewhere for a recipe when I finally get up the energy to make these cookies again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakebean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This was my first time making the Linzer Tart style of cookies. I even found a great set of the Linzer Tart cookie cutters on eBay for a good price. These cookies were a bit time consuming but they were wonderful and got rave reviews from everyone who tried them. I made the dough one evening then was unable to make the cookies so the dough was in the fridge for a few days before I had time again to actually make the cookies...believe me, the dough stiffened up. I actually had to leave it set out a while beforeI could use it. After each roll-out of dough I would keep adding in a bit of the cold dough which seemed to keep it at the perfect consistency. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mycupofjoe
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I don't know if I use a smaller cutter, but I got well over 3 dozen cookies from one batch. LOL At any rate, I get nothing but raves on these cookies. I don't follow the recipe to T, I adjust and eyeball. I prefer more cinnamon and I also add vanilla extract (to taste). Sometimes I have to keep in fridge overnight, other times it's harder after 2 hours. Depends on how late I make them. ;) I also recommend warming the preserves a bit, makes it spread out easier. For the confectioners sugar, I take the tops of the cookies and dust them first, then put the whole cookie together. Got a batch of dough in the fridge right now. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mycupofjoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I agree with the other commenters - a delicious cookie with a required effort that's justifiable only once or twice a year. The cookies tasted fantastic, and I had no trouble rolling out the dough (between two pieces of waxed paper after being chilled overnight). But they crumbled apart coming off the baking sheet. I heated preserves and that helped glue them back together - and the dusted sugar covered up the mistakes. But I gave up halfway through and made the thumbprint cookies that other reviewers suggested, and they were just as delicious, so that's what I'll stick with. Also, I used margarine (vegan) so that may have been part of the crumbly problem, but they still tasted lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States