Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is the worst cookie I have ever made. The dough crumbles and is extremely difficult to work with. Also, there seems to be something missing. Maybe an egg to hold the dough together? I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I am an amateur baker, but I found it frustrating that I could not roll the dough evenly because it kept left, even though I would flour it. I have to admit everyone loved the cookies though. Maybe after some practice I will try again . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Must've done something wrong-the dough came out reeeally wet and unworkable. Maybe try again when you're really bored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Unless you grind the almonds to dust you'll end up with a most indelicate, uncookie-like mess, as I did. Not worth the time and trouble for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Delicious and simple recipe. I added a couple of drops of Almond Extract and the flavor was yummy!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I'm trying to be better about reviewing since I appreciate them so much myslef. This was an excellent recipe. I followed the advic of all the previous reviewers and used different kinds of nuts for the batter and cooked down the jam to make it chewy. They were amazing! I made them as treats for the family for valentine's and everyone loved them. Had to go to 10 different stores to find heart shaped cookie cutters and will definitely be making these for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
These cookies were delicious! I rolled the dough between sheets of parchment instead of flouring - I think this prevented the dough crumbling as others have seen. I didn't have a problem with the dough crumbling, I had a problem with it being too soft to hold its shape after cutting. To fix this, I refrigerated for at least 3 hours before rolling out for the first time. I rolled batches of dough (about 1/4 of the dough each time) between two sheets of parchment, then before cutting the circles, I put the rolled out dough (still in parchment) in the freezer for about 3 minutes. This stiffened up the dough enough for me to be able to pick up the pieces easily. I also heated and simmered the jam for until thickened which made it easier to spread on the delicate cookies. I got about 27 2.5" cookies. The cookies were delicious, and my dog agreed - he got to 2/3 of them before we could eat them! I'll definitely be making another batch! The night I made them, I thought they were a little TOO crisp, but after they sat overnight, the jam soaked into the cookies JUST a bit and they were perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I got as far as making the mixture. I put the dough in the refrigerator and basically followed the directions exactly. The dough was soft and sticky. I couldn't roll it at all and used SO MUCH FLOUR. Any suggestions, I really want to make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
The dough crumbles no matter how cold I keep it. Even after I finally managed to shape some cookies, the cookies tended to crumble after baking. The cookie didn't even really have a good flavor. It was very dry and not very tasteful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
total disaster. maybe it was me.... but id never attempt this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVNILLI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States