Linzer Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CaGirl93101
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Wonderful! I made the recipe exactly as written with the exception of adding a 1/4tsp salt and 1tsp vanilla. I read so many reviews stating the dough was tough to work with - if you've ever made an all butter pie crust (and that's all I make) then simply use the same technique to roll out. Dough should be chilled, one hour is fine, no need to refridgerate overnight (indeed, then you may find it to be too hard to work; don't be shy about the amount of flour you use, really flour your counter, pin, and top - roll gently and turn dough 1/4 turn - if it sticks, lift and throw some more flour under it. Keep gently rolling and turning, pinching dough back together if it cracks. And Voila! If you think you can get in there and roll it out like busciut dough, you're going to have problems sure, but if you're patient, its really not scary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Outstanding! Everyone thought they store bought! As a suggestion, don't put on the preserves until you are ready to serve the cookies. The cookies stay crispy in an airtight container. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
THESE COOKIES ARE THE BOMB!! BUT THEY ARE A LOT OF WORK! THE DOUGH IS TRICKY TO WORK WITH YOU NEED LOTS OF PATIENCE WHICH I DONT HAVE LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is a very difficult dough to work with. I had to let my VERY COLD dough (as I left it to sit overnight in the fridge) come to softness again and add a beaten egg and some sweetex before I could work with it easily. Then of course they were a bit too 'fluffy' with the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I cringe making these. They are the most labor intensive cookies I've ever made - even compared to rainbow cookies! But i've been using this recipe for a few years now and EVERYONE loves it. The only difference is I use almond extract instead of the almonds slivers. To help with the labor, I devote a weekend to making at least two batches and cut them all out and freeze them individually so come the holidays I only need to bake and put them together. When i bake for a holiday, I actually knead the dough so its workable, roll and cut like a madwoman and put the cookies in the freezer for 5 min before prying them off my nonstick flimsy cutting board. THEN i bake them so the shape isnt compromised. Sometimes the cookie expands - not sure why but im sure it has to do with my bootleg baking method. But they are still pretty and yummy to eat the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Incredibly tasty recipe. Just remember to CHILL!!! I can't repeat this enough. I chilled for the recommended 1 hour, and the dough would not let go of my heavily floured surface. Then, I tried to refrigerate it overnight, and kept all the scraps in the freezer for a few minutes before I re-worked the dough. The cookie has such a nice, light crunch. It is also not too sweet, and complimented the jam I used very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
so so good, did not change a thing and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Knocked off a star because the dough is difficult to work with. And I actually use an additional 1/4 cup of butter for this recipe, making the dough even more temperamental. But for those of you who are not fanatical about appearances and don't mind if they look a little too "homemade", you can actually roll the dough into a log (approx 2.5in in diameter), refrigerate it, then slice it using a width of 1/8in. The only reason it doesn't make for a very "professional"-looking cookie is because once you throw the log into the fridge, the bottom flattens out. I guess you could use a paper towel roll or something to keep it from flattening. Anyway, 4 stars overall - these cookies are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
After making the first sheet of cookies, working with the dough was so difficult that I swore I would never do it again. HOWEVER after tasting one, I changed my thinking completely. These are incredibly buttery and flaky. Very subtle flavor. I used homemade Austrian apricot preserves for the filling. The contrast of the slightly sweet cookie with the tart preserves makes a perfect cookie. It's all about the finished look and the taste. Get over the fact that the dough is a bear to work with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barig22
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Seriously, the most incredible tasting Linzer Tarts next to Dortoni's Bakery in Long Island, NY! I made SLIGHT changes but still gave the 5 stars because I only changed for personal preferences, NOT because the recipe did not work. MY CHANGES: Nucoa, instead of butter (needed to keep non-dairy), used 1 c. almonds, 3/4 c. Pecans (more flavor). HINTS: HINT #1: Split dough into 3 packages and roll 1 at a time, refrigerating in-between as much as possible. Dough softens VERY quickly. HINT #2: Be GENEROUS with flour on your rolling board AND on your pin. Dip Cutter in flour. Reflour a dusting with each roll, even a pat is fine. Throw flour on the board and flour on your dough - you will have a MUCH easier time and will not change dough! Think Flour happy! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Macaron (French Macaroon)

Watch how to make a perfectly round, crisp macaroon in this video.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States