Linnie's Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
I thought this recipe was just okay. Maybe using less salsa would be better. I had very high hopes after reading all of the rave reviews. It was very quick an easy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIMARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
I added much more garlic than was suggested, about 3 cloves, needs spicy salsa otherwise is a bit bland, crème fraîche and shredded cheese top it off nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rochefort-Sur-Mer, Poitou-Charentes, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
Wonderful recipe. After years of trying to make the perfect spanish rice, this recipe nailed it. It has the perfect blend of spices, making it taste the way it is supposed to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Richmond

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I followed the recipe to a T (besides browning rice & garlic like others suggested). I think the concept is excellent, but I'd try again with a diff. type of salsa. The end flavor wasn't as great as it could be with the right salsa. Mine did not come out too watery either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
We eat a LOT of mexican and this is one of the best recipes for spanish rice I've found!! (Of course, it all depends on the salsa you use. Your favorite is not always the best for this recipe; I use a salsa that's a little thinner than the "garden style" black bean and rice salsa that we eat with everything else.) This is a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
I added 1 lb of skinless smoked sausage, 1 T of oil, used garlic salt instead of the minced garlic and just cooked all the ingredients together in the microwave for about 15 minutes stirring every 5 minutes. This was very good. My 2 year old enjoyed it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
I fixed this for a family potluck and it was a huge hit. Every said it was the best spanish rice they had ever tasted. I did brown the rice in oil first as was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
i really liked this! i'd never made spanish rice before. it came out a little soupy so next time i will decrease the water a bit. i doubled it and used one jar of mild and one jar of medium salsa. a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Really good and easy recipe. I added a lot more garlic and the whole jar of salsa nad it came out just perfect. Thanks for such and easy and great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
I sauteed the rice and garlic before adding the water and salsa for more flavor. My husband really liked it but I still thought it needed something, possibly lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States