Linguini with White Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I like this recipe because it is quick and impressive to throw together for company as long as you have all the ingredients prepped and ready to go. I am giving it 4 stars because I did have to tweak it to give it a little more flavor as it was a little bland for our taste. I added freshly squeezed lemon juice and a little more wine. I also doubled the garlic and added cherry stone clams that I steamed in wine in addition to the canned clams. I think next time I will also add some hot pepper flakes. I love the fact that this recipe doesn't use butter. However, it definitely needs a little more seasoning to make up for it. I will continue using this recipe as a guide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Great. Even the kids eat it. This is the only recipe I use now for clam sauce. I punch it up a bit with more fresh garlic, pepper and red pepper flakes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsiuliano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I thought this was excellent! I did add some crushed red pepper flakes and I think it would be better with 1 more can of clams. But my husband and son both thought it was good, so I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I thought this recipe was very good, but it needed something...a little "umph" or more flavor...maybe a little more black pepper or maybe next time I'll add in a bit of red peppar flakes...but over all, we really enjoyed it. I used 3 cans of clams and juice and used 1/2 milk, 1/2 cream to give it a little more creaminess. But it was yummy and hubby enjoyed it also. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Wonderful! This was my first time to make clam sauce, and it was so good! I cut down on the fat by using only 2 Tbl. olive oil, and skim milk. I read other reviews and decided to cut way down on the clam juice (I used 3 Tbl.), then added 1/2 cup of wine. Very quick and easy recipe. Serve with a side of steamed broccoli and crusty bread. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This is one of my favorite recipes, it's so easy to make and tastes wonderful! I add a couple of dashes of white pepper and a few sprinkles of crushed red pepper flakes...and it's even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Good, but of course modified:1TBS crushed Garlic, 1 Jar TJ's white clam sauce, 1 can diced tomatoes, 1/4 TSP red pepper flakes, 1/4 TSP dried Oregano, 1/4 TSP dried Basil. Add all ingredients to canned sauce and simmer for 1 hour then toss with linguine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Last night I made the Best linguini & clams I ever made In My Life. This recipe is the Best. I made these changes: 1. I increased the parsley to one cup and added it with the clams when tossing the pasta & sauce. 2. I added a medium sweet onion with the garlic. 3. I increased the garlic salt to ?? 4. I did not add cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This sauce is so tasty, you would never guess it is so fast and easy to make. I added 3TBS more wine and subbed half n half for the milk. I also added some fresh basil right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is probably the best White Clam Sauce recipe I ever made. Followed the recipe as indicated, just added paprika for color and a pinch of cayenne pepper to kick it up a bit. Excellent! Thanks for sharing this one...Will only use this for clam sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RosieCooks

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States