Linguine with White Clam Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This is one of my hubby's favorite dishes and he really enjoyed this. I slightly thickened the sauce, added more garlic and also threw in some white wine. Thanks Janet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
This recipe delivers what it promises--quick and easy. Delicious, too! I did add an onion, sauteed it with the olive oil before adding the garlic and clams. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ManxGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Love this recipe, because it doesn't really call for anything I won't normally find in the pantry. I do add a can of whole baby clams as well as the minced clams, and I season with OLD BAY seasoning and minced onion. If I'm having company, I will increase the sauce with more clam juice, and add some tiger prawns and clams in the half shell. With some chopped parsley around the plate, it makes a nice presentation. Also great with a squirt of lemon juice before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I give this one a 5 star because of it's ease and quickness. Use fresh parsley if you can and I added onion also. I sub'ed skim milk with a tbsp of cornstarch for the clam juice to obtain better color and thickness. Great on wheat pasta, very healthy. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Very easy and quick and yummy. I also thickened the sauce with just a little bit of flour and added parmesan while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was very tasteless and watery. I can't imagine how bland it would be with water instead of clam juice. It was a little better with a lot of extra salt, pepper, and italian seasoning, but overall, didn't offer much. If I had to do it over, I would add cream or milk, some flour to thicken it, and some parmasan, onion, maybe bacon...something to add flavor and help it stick to the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Made this recently for a thing at our church (we feed and house homeless families for a week at a time). It was a big hit! I didn't do anything other than what the recipe said, and it was as good or better than I have had at restaurants. I will make this again -- often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MasterGrillAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I thought this lacked a lot of flavor. I had to add more salt and pepper just so I could taste SOMETHING besides cream and pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlledanielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Windsor, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Not all sauces are meant to stick to the pasta. North Americans generally expect thick pasta sauces and usually red 'tomatoey' ones. This is a thin version and a good basic recipe for altering t taste. I add about 2 tbsp. olive oil, loads of flat-leaf parsley, finely chopped, about 1/4 cup+. The herby green flavour of the parsley is a delicious contrast to the briny clams. A splash of white wine is good idea. This has been a familly favourite for years. Thanks for your version, JANBLIDEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I was surprised at how easy and fast this was put together, but even more surprised my 7 kids DEVOURED it! They couldn't get enough! My husband said it tasted better than any restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States