Linguine with Spinach and Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This was great. The smokiness of the bacon paired really well with the earthy brie and spinach. I used tri-color veggie pasta spirals and added basil, parsley, smoked paprika, and a lil cayenne. My husband said it was very colorful. Also this was super quick and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
I was really interested to see how this recipe would come out since the reviews seem to be split. What I found is this is a very fresh and light flavor dish, so yes I can see how many of the people reviewing it said it seemed to be missing somthing. Here are the modifications I made and still remained true to the recipe: 6 slices of bacon, completly cooked and crumbled 1/2 cup-ish of rind-free Brie (extra is good) 2 tbsp lemon juice 2 tbsp italian seasoning 1/2 bag of Organic frozen spinich (yes organic has more flavor) I cooked and drained the pasta, then returned it to the pan. I added the spinich and brie, stirred it, then cover to let the hot pasta melt the brie and thaw the spinich. Turn the burner on low, add the garlic, bacon, lemon juice and itlian seasoning and a few tablespoons of water so it doesnt burn. Mix occasionally and keep stiring until all ingredients are well mixed. Dice a fresh tomato and sprinkle on just before serving. Hope this helps you! Oh and make sure you eat this right away, it doesnt reheat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I have family with celiacs disease so I tried it over jasmine rice and omitted the bacon and instead used olive oil. I also increase the garlic and added chicken in small cubes and sundried tomatoes and baby bella mushrooms. It was fantastic. the Brie didn't melt quite how I expected, but added a nice creaminess to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Berry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Great idea... Sounds delicious and I really wanted to love it but unfortunately it is really lacking in flavor. I did add some chopped up sundried tomatoes to try to jazz it up a bit but still didn't do the trick. It's not horrible by any means but really needs some flavor. Maybe some basil and parsley? Hmmm. Thanks for the recipe as it has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
We added halved cherry tomatoes and some extra brie to this. My husband really liked it, but I thought it was a bit bland...Maybe next time we'll add some extra spices to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This recipe was amazing! I would have given it 5 starts but I made some additions based on other reviewers comments. I fried the bacon in the olive oil instead of adding it at the end. Then I took the bacon out, browned the garlic and threw spinach, tomatoes, mushrooms and italian seasoning into the pan. Then I added the brie to the pan and it melted nicely. I tossed the whole thing with the linguine. mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
I've never made anything like this before so I dont know if its supposed to be this oily or if I just used too much olive oil/brie cheese. I added tomatoes and mushrooms. I really like this recipe because its quick to make, and you dont necessarily have to measure all ingredients-you can just throw in how much you like, and you dont necessarily have to have all the ingredients in order to make it. I make a lot on the weekend and keep it during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This is a really simple, delicious recipe that I've tried many times, but never the same way. It's so easy to add what you like and take away anything you don't without ruining the flavor! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
the recipe should say to remove rind from the brie before you cube it. I have a recipe similar to this that uses southwestern seasoning, (chili powder, Mexican oregano, ground chipotle, paprika, ground cumin)and fresh chopped basil and parsely. I think that would eliminate any blandness. Throwing in some pinenuts for texture would be nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luisa Ormonde Hancock

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was a good base recipe. I added mushrooms, sun dried tomatoes, crushed red pepper, italian seasoning and garlic salt (because of all the "no-flavor" comments). It turned out to be a really tasty dish that I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States