Linguine with Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
Simple shrimp recipes are the best. This one is great as is and even simpler if you just cook to shrimp in a skillet. I'd melt the butter, add the garlic, then the shrimp, then toss in the parsley and finally add the cooked pasta to the pan. You could also add a cup of wine or some breadcrumbs if you wanted. To lighten it up, use less butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Wow. Made this tonite - lots of woofing and slurping. This recipe is definitely gourmet restaurant quality. I made just a few adjustments: I used 1/3 c of butter and 1/3 c of extra virgin olive oil and sauteed 1/2 of a large shallot (chopped) until tender in a large skillet on top of the stove. THEN, I added the garlic (6 cloves - do not brown), shrimp, lemon juice, parsley and 1 1/2 tsp of sea salt. At the end, I added a half a can of chicken broth to make more sauce. The broth really cut the oil and rounded out the flavor,leaving plenty of juice for the pasta to soak up. I used angel hair pasta instead of linguini. Just wonderful.....After the pasta was eaten, we dunked our focaccia bread in the extra sauce....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I made it in a skillet instead of the oven and substituted olive oil for some of the butter, and added a splash of white wine--very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
QUICK, EASY and GOOD! I hate it when people totally change a recipe, but here I go....1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup olive oil, 1/2 cup chicken stock (to make sure all the pasta got coated with sauce), SIX cloves of garlic (and should have used 2 more), juice from 1 whole lemon, a small shake of red pepper flakes and most of a bottle of capers (These are the key!!). This is a DELICIOUS base from which to jump! Thank you for such a good, quick and very satisfying recipe! My husband had 3rds!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I have made this recipe many times and think I have tweaked it to perfection. I cut the butter to 1/2 cup and add a 1/3 cup olive oil and 1/3 cup chicken broth. Double the lemon juice and add capers and some parmesan cheese at the end. Use angel hair pasta. This stuff is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
Great easy recipe but giving it a 4 due to the changes I felt necessary. Made a few adaptations because of the fat content. Used 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil, a touch of chicken broth and about 1/4 cup white wine. Using good quality EVOO and white wine make all the difference. Also, for flavouring added a few shakes of red chili pepper flakes, juice from a whole lemon, about double the asked for amount of parsley and 5 garlic cloves. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shak
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
It was really good i liked....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2004
I gave this recipe 4 stars because it is a really good start. You have to add and subtract to make it really tangy and not greasy, which shrimp scampi should be. The 3/4 cup butter is way too much. I used 1/2 cup and the pasta could still stand to lose another 1/4 cup. My pasta was swimming in butter and I used 16 ounces of pasta rather than the 12 ounces listed in the recipe. I also added double the lemon juice and crushed red pepper flakes to give it some heat. I liked baking the shrimp, it added a nice flavor. I'll be making this often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This meets all three of my criteria - easy, fast, and delicious! Per other reviews, I made some adjustments. I used 1/4 cup each of butter, olive oil, and white wime instead of 3/4 cup butter. Still, the pasta was a little dry, so I will increase the amounts a little bit next time. I also added some red pepper flakes, extra garlic, and some chopped up scallions. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I made this in the skillet as well as many other reviews. I used 1/2 cup butter and a 1/4 cup E.V.O.O. And I used a 1/2 cup of white wine too. All in all this was good. I have made this a thousand and one times. And I will continue to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States