Linguine with Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I added a little chopped red pepper as suggested by previous user, I would have wanted it to have a little stronger taste, but all in all it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
I made this for dinner for my husband's birthday and he pronounced it "restaurant quality". However, I definitely had to tweak the basic recipe a bit. I baked the shrimp in 1 cup butter (would use 1/2 c next time), 1/3 cup e.v.o.o. and 1/3 cup chicken broth (as suggested by another reviewer). I used 6 cloves of garlic and added salt, black pepper AND ground red pepper. The salt, red pepper and MUCH more lemon juice than the recipe called for made ALL the difference! Before I made those changes just before serving, the sauce was just really greasy and lacking flavor. Even with the necessary changes, it was a very easy recipe overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
Excellent! My husband and I both loved it. I made a huge pot of it to freeze so that my husband won't starve while I am away next week. And he doesn't mind at all to eat it for dinner for the next week! The lemon added a tangy flavour which was really refreshing. I used a pre-cooked seafood mix instead of fresh shrimp but I baked it the same way the recipe instructed and it turned out beautiful. The butter was not too much for our taste-buds... I love butter ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woluwe-Saint-Lambert, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
I MADE THIS FOR A BIRTHDAY PARTY AND THEN AGAIN FOR ANOTHER PARTY. IT WAS A BIG HIT TWICE! NEEDED ALITTLE LONGER COOKING TIME BUT ONLY AMINUTE OR TWO. I THINK THIS IS A GREAT RECIPE FOR A FIRT TIME SEAFOOD DISH BECAUSE IVE NEVER MADE ANYTHING FROM THE WATER BEFORE AND IT WORKED. YEA!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
I have made this recipe 3 or 4 times, and every time I do, my husband and I sit and think about our arteries clogging afterward. It seems very rich.. Don't get me wrong, it is DELICIOUS! I think I will try it with olive oil instead of the butter and see what that tastes like..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
I gave this recipe 4 stars because it is a really good start. You have to add and subtract to make it really tangy and not greasy, which shrimp scampi should be. The 3/4 cup butter is way too much. I used 1/2 cup and the pasta could still stand to lose another 1/4 cup. My pasta was swimming in butter and I used 16 ounces of pasta rather than the 12 ounces listed in the recipe. I also added double the lemon juice and crushed red pepper flakes to give it some heat. I liked baking the shrimp, it added a nice flavor. I'll be making this often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2004
Wow. Made this tonite - lots of woofing and slurping. This recipe is definitely gourmet restaurant quality. I made just a few adjustments: I used 1/3 c of butter and 1/3 c of extra virgin olive oil and sauteed 1/2 of a large shallot (chopped) until tender in a large skillet on top of the stove. THEN, I added the garlic (6 cloves - do not brown), shrimp, lemon juice, parsley and 1 1/2 tsp of sea salt. At the end, I added a half a can of chicken broth to make more sauce. The broth really cut the oil and rounded out the flavor,leaving plenty of juice for the pasta to soak up. I used angel hair pasta instead of linguini. Just wonderful.....After the pasta was eaten, we dunked our focaccia bread in the extra sauce....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
good meal. cleaning the shrimp was such a pain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDOWNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Wonderful! My picky boyfriend loved it. I will add more salt or maybe seafood seasonings to give a little more flavor and less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Wow this was delicious. My husband even used the extra sauce to drizzle onto his bread and eat as garlic bread. My daughter asked for seconds. It was super easy too! I will definitely make more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States