Linguine with Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I don't feel like I am giving a fair review because I didn't follow the instructions step by step. I, however, used all the ingredients listed but narrowed the usage of butter and added olive oil and chicken broth instead. I did this on the recommendation of another reviewer. The ingredients are very easy to find and are affordable. This is a very simple dish but I think I may have added too much olive oil in. I also thought it lacked in taste, despite the fact that I overloaded on the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This meal was really good! I followed the suggestion below of changing the amount of butter to 1/2 cup, 1/2 cup of EVOO, 1/2 cup of chicken stock (except I accidentally bought chick broth which turned out fine), I added red pepper flakes, capers, and a red bell peppers for color (place in with the shrimp so it can cook completely). I didn't put too much capers because I think it would have made the meal too salty. Really good, and super duper easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I made some similar tweaks, like the other reviewers, but really - isn't that what cooking is all about?? The one addition I wanted to throw out there was artichoke hearts. I happened to have some in my fridge and threw them in - they added a wonderful twist of flavor! (Similar to the effects of the capers, I would assume.) Yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Valle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Excellent! I didn't have any linguine on hand so we used angel hair. Very easy and the shrimp were perfectly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is a good recipe, but as written I felt that it was bland. It was as though something was missing. It may just be me but I feel the sauce needs to be played around with to make it of more substance - maybe adding cream or stock or flavouring would improve this dish. Next time I have spare shrimp I will play around with this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
It was very good and quick to prepare. Next time I'll use less butter (maybe 1/3 cup) and parsley, but besides that I really loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa Kiehnle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
What a great recipe! Super easy to make and delicious. My son who is usually very picky on what he eats loved it and finished his plate. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I made a lighter version as suggested by other reviewers. I decreased the butter, added the oil and added the chicken stock. I liked it. My hubby liked it but gave it a 3.5 because he would rather have had the original recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1beautifulmess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
The only thing I changed was decreasing the amount of pasta to 8 oz. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puravida555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maiden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I made this for my boyfriend. He loved it. I love it too. I make it all the time now. I do use olive oil or any kind of oil and extra butter at the end. If you are looking for a good scampi this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States