Linguine with Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by sxm5035
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Excellent!! I used 1/3 cup chicken broth and 1/3 cup olive oil and a stick of butter instead of all the butter the recipe calls for and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Everyone loved this dish. I used angel hair instead of linguini. Only gave 4 stars b/c I made modifications and I'm not sure if original recipe would have been as tasty. I added (based on other reviewers suggestions) 1 bunch of parsley chopped, bottle of drained capers, and 1 t lemon zest; changed following to 1/3 cup of each: butter, evoo, chicken broth, wine; used 6 cloves garlic, used juice of whole lemon. Was even better the next day! Would definitely make this again. May even try it with ziti and make it more of a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I didn't love it, but I technically altered the recipe and used dried dill (didn't have the parsley), and frozen shrimp. I was trying to find a recipe for the shrimp in my freezer when I came across this, but unfortunately, I just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
added mushrooms because we love them! and added more shrimp. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I don't normally eat seafood of any kind, simply because I don't like it. After trying this recipe, however, I changed my mind about shrimp (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khrysten1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I was not home in time to fix supper and I left the recipe for my hubby. He is not a cook...at all... He did a wonderful job. They left me the last 6 pieces of shrimp in the dish and it was fabulous!! Great job honey!!!! And you said you couldn't cook;-]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefchristabug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This is a good recipe. Im all for making quick and easy recipes for dinner. I only gave it 4 stars because I altered the recipe a little bit. After reading all of the review for this recipe, I added the following ingredients: instead of 3/4 cup of butter I used 1/2 cup of butter, 1/4 cup of olive oil and 1/4 cup of white wine. I also used crushed red peppers, a little sprinkle of parmesan cheese while cooking and some after and instead of regular linguine I used thin linguine...After all of this, it turned out GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Very good and simple!! The only thing that took any time was peeling the shrimp, otherwise this meal would go together in about 10 mins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty2007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I don't feel like I am giving a fair review because I didn't follow the instructions step by step. I, however, used all the ingredients listed but narrowed the usage of butter and added olive oil and chicken broth instead. I did this on the recommendation of another reviewer. The ingredients are very easy to find and are affordable. This is a very simple dish but I think I may have added too much olive oil in. I also thought it lacked in taste, despite the fact that I overloaded on the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This meal was really good! I followed the suggestion below of changing the amount of butter to 1/2 cup, 1/2 cup of EVOO, 1/2 cup of chicken stock (except I accidentally bought chick broth which turned out fine), I added red pepper flakes, capers, and a red bell peppers for color (place in with the shrimp so it can cook completely). I didn't put too much capers because I think it would have made the meal too salty. Really good, and super duper easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States