Linguine with Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is good! For anyone worried about overcooking the clams, pfft. Canned clams are cooked and brined to the point that it would take an act of God to change their texture - it really doesn't matter when you add them. If you are expecting a "sauce" you won't get it. This recipe is more like a flavor coating for the pasta, clams and mushrooms. I was worried it would be too salty, but I actually ended up having to add salt after tossing the pasta. I also added some nutmeg, which was nice. For reheating, you may want to add a little olive oil for "cling". The guys LOVED this; I liked it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I haven't made this but reading the recipe, I can't imagine cooking canned clams for 20 minutes, they would be rubber by then. They should just need to be briefly heated to warm them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
The sauce is a little thin for my taste so I add a little heavy cream plus a few strips of bacon to give it more flavor. My husband loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
This was a very good recipe, simple to make and quick. I love mushrooms so that was a nice touch. When I saw the sour cream on the list of ingrediants I thought that was weird but tried it anyway and it just thickened up the sauce and made it even yummier. Recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I minimized the recipe to 4 servings and it turned out terrible! There was no sauce. I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
This is an excellent recipe. I really enjoyed this. I didn't add the sour cream and it still was fabulous. This is a definate keeper. I used baby portabellas and they tasted so good in this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
A reviewer states that the clams will become rubbery if cooked for 20 minutes - if they were fresh clams, this would be true but canned clams are not going to get rubbery from cooking. As a matter of fact because they are already cooked, brined and canned, they will become less rubbery as they absorb more liquid during the cooking process. One reviewer who as acutally made the recipe states this as well. This is a GOOD recipe! I didn't add mushrooms or fresh parsley (used 1 tsp of dried) and it was FABULoUs!! I also added a bit of kosher salt (1/4 tsp) to the clam sauce as it was cooking and LOTS of salt to the pasta water. It was perfect! Don't expect an alfredo style "sauce" that you are going to sop up with bread - that's not what linguine and clams is! If you like REAL linguine and clams -try this recipe and don't be afraid to follow it as written. I will make this again and again - we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
It was bland... and then sauce just wasn't the clam sauce I was expecting. I actually felt sorry for my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Fabulous! I never made a clam sauce w/sour cream before but it really added to the flavor. My kids LOVED it...and the are finicky eaters! Easy. And, regarding the reader who claimed she didn't even make the recipe but gave it a bad rating...shame on you. Don't rate something until you've tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Great recipe that was soooo easy to prepare! My boyfriend totally loved it- and he's a pretty picky guy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mill Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States