Linguine with Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
A reviewer states that the clams will become rubbery if cooked for 20 minutes - if they were fresh clams, this would be true but canned clams are not going to get rubbery from cooking. As a matter of fact because they are already cooked, brined and canned, they will become less rubbery as they absorb more liquid during the cooking process. One reviewer who as acutally made the recipe states this as well. This is a GOOD recipe! I didn't add mushrooms or fresh parsley (used 1 tsp of dried) and it was FABULoUs!! I also added a bit of kosher salt (1/4 tsp) to the clam sauce as it was cooking and LOTS of salt to the pasta water. It was perfect! Don't expect an alfredo style "sauce" that you are going to sop up with bread - that's not what linguine and clams is! If you like REAL linguine and clams -try this recipe and don't be afraid to follow it as written. I will make this again and again - we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I thought this was great! I used fresh clams and steamed them in the sauce (obviously omitting the juice from the canned clams). Once open I removed them then added the sour cream and parsley then poured the whole pan back over the pasta and clams. I did need to continue to cook the sauce for a while to reduce and thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
It seemed like such a good recipe on paper, but the flavor was rather bland and disappointing to our taste buds. However, it was still good enough that I am willing to try and experiment with some different herbs - if I do, I will definitely make much smaller quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Nice base recipe. Scaled down to 4 servings and doubled mushrooms, added a very large chopped green Chili, (sauteed in olive oil instead of butter) used dried parsley, and added enough sour cream to give it a nice texture. Used 1 can of clams. Served mixed with whole wheat angel hair, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoenix Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Really enjoyed this! Great flavor and both my young children like it! Don't expect a think white sauce - it is more of a coating. I added some thickner to create a sauce, and that worked well. I am considering reducing the butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
very good, next time I will try half unsalted and half salted butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This is good! For anyone worried about overcooking the clams, pfft. Canned clams are cooked and brined to the point that it would take an act of God to change their texture - it really doesn't matter when you add them. If you are expecting a "sauce" you won't get it. This recipe is more like a flavor coating for the pasta, clams and mushrooms. I was worried it would be too salty, but I actually ended up having to add salt after tossing the pasta. I also added some nutmeg, which was nice. For reheating, you may want to add a little olive oil for "cling". The guys LOVED this; I liked it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was great and couldn't be easier. My husband loved it and so did I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Fabulous! I never made a clam sauce w/sour cream before but it really added to the flavor. My kids LOVED it...and the are finicky eaters! Easy. And, regarding the reader who claimed she didn't even make the recipe but gave it a bad rating...shame on you. Don't rate something until you've tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was great with fresh garlic chives and parsley from my garden. I only simmered after adding the clams for about 5 minutes and added a little more sour cream. Perfect! Going to try with shrimp next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States