Linguine with Clams and Porcini Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
This was really great. I used fresh portobellos instead of the dried porchini as suggested by another user and it came out wonderful. I used generous portion of red pepper flakes as I like my meals spicy, without it I think it may have been a little bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Great tasting recipe! Cut back on the garlic, and used canned clams in juice (much less than 24 oz, in other words). Still was pretty salty, but mm-mm tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrewd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I used fresh mushrooms, canned clams and less dried parsley. The clam juice was from the can. It was VERY garlicky (it says 10 cloves), wish I cut back on that, and also less red pepper flakes. I threw in some chopped fresh spinach, just to have some green color. Also added cornstarch as a thickener. Overall good, I'll add my changes next time to make it a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Excellent recipe. My husband and I both enjoyed this. The mushrooms was a great addition. I did add 2 tblspns of heavy cream to thicken the sauce. It made an excellent base for dipping our garlic bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jannette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I did love this dish. My only complaint was the rehydrated mushrooms I purchased were a mixed variety and were very chewy. I may skip them altogether or try this recipe with fresh mushrooms. I thought it was fantastic and I served it over Trader Joe's Garlic and Chive Linguine. I'm also tempted to try this with canned clams to decrease the cost. In terms of fresh clams, you want to make sure to buy clams that are tightly closed. Take them home and immediately take them out of their bag (or they'll suffocate). To clean them, scrub them with a brush, and place them in a large bowl of cold fresh water. Let them sit there for at least 30 mins to filter out the sand. Gently take them out and rinse them, and they are ready to use. It's crazy to see how much sand ends up in the bottom of the cleaning bowl! Update: I made it again, but used fresh portabella mushrooms and they were excellent. It did turn the broth base a little brown, but was MUCH better than dehydrated mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This dish turned out super. My husband, who is a man of very few words, commented that the dish was "very tasty" and "very good". It was also easy to make. I served with a salad and crusty multigrain bread for "sopping" up the extra sauce. Definitely will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Terrific recipe! The only reason I didn't give it a "5" was because the clam juice made it too salty- next time I'll cut back on that and substitute low sodium broth or some of the liquid from the porcini reconstitution - very tasty and easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
This was the first time I have tried clams in the shell. There were very easy, but the taste didn't go over very well with the family. This is a simple recipe to follow, I'm just not sure it was what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
I love linguine with clams.....this recipe just made it to the top of my list! Thank you Debbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
This was fantastic! I used fresh-in-the-shell littlenecks and also added fresh "chowder clams" during the garlic step. Excellent taste and presentation! Family loved it - even the one who isn't wild about clams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States