Linguine with Cajun-Spiced Shrimp and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
The eight ingredients starting with the garlic should be mixed together and let sit overnight in the fridge to marinate, the oregano should be 1 tablespoon not one teaspoon (don't be afraid as it mixes through). The entire mixture should be heated through with the melted butter and proceed with the recipe. The garlic and red onion should not be cooked until translucent as this dulls the intensity of the garlic and red onion changing the final flavor. Also shouldn't take as much time as recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Carriere, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This is a good beginning. I added a large can of whole tomatoes, chopped, with the vegetables, a 1/2 half cup of virgin olive oil and double the amount of Cilantro and Spices. Instead of half and half, I used white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I altered the recipe a little bit, added Rotel Tomatoes and Chilies. Put a little kick in it. I did like this recipe and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PitBoss007

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Changes I made: I marinated the shrimp in the juice of half a lime for a couple of hours; I cut WAY back on the amount of butter called for; I subbed regular yellow onion for the red, and I used a couple of tbsps of McCormick's Chipotle Chile Pepper powder instead of canned peppers. This turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Another classic that I've held on to. Be careful about the butter and you may want to use less pasta but other than that mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This was delicious - I omitted the red bell pepper as I had none on hand. I would make this again, but I think the sauce was not enough for that much linguine so I'd double the sauce and leave everything else as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I followed some of the reviewer's suggestions. I sauteed veggies in 1 T butter, doubled onion, oregano, cilantro and chili pepper, used 1 C half & half, and added a can of tomato sauce. Came out pretty darn good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Tasty, but I think I would have made a roux first as the sauce is a bit thin. Also, the color is beautiful, but for more variation, add green bell in with the red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was good but nothing really special about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KELLEY101
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Has good spice. I added a can of stewed tomatoes and changed the linguine to rotini, and changed the red pepper to green pepper. Oh, I also added far more garlic cuz that's what I do ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEY101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Linguine with Chicken and Vegetables

What's cooking in Ellington? This creamy, satisfying linguine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States