Linguine with Asparagus, Bacon, and Arugula Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
This was surprisingly good! I added a couple of thinly sliced shallots to the garlic and asparagus. Couldn't find any arugula so I used baby spinach, adding it to the sauteed asparagus, garlic, and shallots, allowing it to just wilt before turning the heat off and adding the cooked bacon (I cut it into bite sized pieces before frying), lemon juice and linguine. A couple of twists of fresh ground pepper and a big handful of shredded parmesan completed this fabulous side dish! We served it with grilled strip steaks for a fresh summer meal. Thanks! We'll keep it in rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Great light recipe. Next time I would add a few red pepper flakes to give it a little more flavor but all in all we just loved it. Next time I'm leaving the bacon out and will serve a BBQ Salmon steak over the lemony tasking pasta. I will definitely make this again....Perfect for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was just ok for us. Smelled much better than it tasted. Very bland and way too much pasta vs other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
We enjoyed this recipe although I made a few changes. I too cut the bacon into bite size pieces and used zucchini instead of asparagus. I had arugula, not baby arugula, in the fridge so I chopped it and cooked it a short time with the other ingredience. Also used the bacon grease and less olive oil. My husband enjoyed it with fresh parmesan grated over it and a glass of dry rhone wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This was delicious!! I had to use baby spinach because I couldn't find arugula at the store (I will look harder next time!). I hate to fry bacon so I cooked it in the oven for the 1st time and it turned out great! I have to admit I did add some extra bacon!! YUM-O as Rachael Ray would say!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Gray Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Excellent flavor! I scaled down the amount of pasta (and switched from linguine to rotini) and arugula and added cubed cooked chicken breast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Just okay. Something about salad material with pasta... not a good mix for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINDSOR64
Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Easy to make and perfect for a hot summer day dinner, whole family loved it, even the kids. Great with a nice white wine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Great as a side dish. Next time, we will add a meat to the side to make a more complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
WHY do you folks rate a recipe when you have changed it? What are you rating? Certainly not the recipe shown. Frustrating. Salad as shown above was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gramcayo

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Oven-Roasted Asparagus

This easy technique makes asparagus tangy and savory. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States