Linguine Pasta with Shrimp and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I authored this recipe but since it was written and 2 years later published I've made a few changes. I add about 1 cup of cream and about 3 tablespoons of fresh chopped basil at the end. This is so good for a quick and easy meal for company or just a quick and easy meal for your family! Update 12/5/09 - This originally called for 12 oz of angel hair pasta but AR changed it to 16 oz of linguine. Not sure why but you may want to change the amount of pasta to only 12oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
331 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This is an amazing recipe! I used a 28 oz can of petite diced tomatoes with the juice; I just had to cook it down slightly more; I also added 1/2 of an onion, chopped with the garlic and a few extra dashes of the cajun seasoning at the end. Served with fresh grated parmesan cheese - this recipe is amazingly yummy!!! Made it for my mother in law's birthday - whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aly
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was such a terrific tasting recipe. I wanted to make it a bit heartier so I added red and green peppers and some mushrooms. I cooked the veggies and shrimp separately and added some red pepper flakes then just added it to the tomatoes when they thickened. The tomatoes, wine and butter made such a tasty sauce. A keeper recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Pretty tasty recipe. Sauce needed something more though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
If only I could give extra stars for being so easy and so tasty! For the tomatoes I used 2 cans of petite diced and one can of crushed with a tsp. of sugar (I also added in a tsp. of the cajun seasoning to the sauce). Following the advice of the recipe submitter, I added basil and also added the cup of cream that she suggests. I served this with a good coating of fresh parmesan on top. DELISH! Thanks for sharing a fabulous recipe, Cindy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycatlady -  "CCL"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I would give this more stars if I could!!! Absolutely love this recipe. I used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes, which I pulsed in my food processor a bit. Used about 4 cloves of garlic and omitted the wine (since I didn't have any.)Perfect!!! I am sure if you follow the directions exactly that it will still be perfect. I am not sure if this is an Italian or Cajun recipe but it reminds me so much of meals I had while living on the Northern coast of Italy. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy1979

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This recipe was good but I agree with everybody that it needs more flavor... that is why I gave it 3 stars and not 4 or 5. If I make it again I will add fresh basil or cilantro on the top. Also you need to double the amount of sauce if you have more than 3 people. My sauce was not sweet like other people said, it was perfect in flavor, I think it was too sweet for other people because of the wine they used. My sauce was too watery so next time I will add some thickener to it. The best part of this recipe was the shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Love to Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This recipe was absolutely delicious and very easy to make. My husband who is the pickiest eater in the world loved it and even had seconds. Thanks I will add it to my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love to Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Very good! I upped the garlic and cajun seasoning to make it taste more spicy than sweet. Next time I may add a few more tomatoes to make a little more sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Air force wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
For some reason we simmered the tomatoes at least twice the recommended time and the sauce consistency never happened. We also found it to be slightly bitter, adding a scant teaspoon of splenda cured that. Hubby is Italian and makes his own sauces which simmer for at least 4 days, we were looking for a quick and easy dish to take to a potluck. This worked wonderful for that. Others mentioned this being on the sweet side, since we followed the recipe am sure wondering where we went wrong. Do appreciate the easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States