Linguine Pasta with Shrimp and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Cheeky
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great recipe idea, but I did change it up, so I felt I could only gave it 4 stars as written. First, I used only a half lb of cooked large shrimp because there were only 2 of us, and this sounded like it would be best served fresh, not left over. What I did was saute the garlic, added 2 cups of halved grape tomatoes, the butter, and the wine. I didn't want a thick marinara-type sauce, so I only simmered about 10 min. In the meantime, I tossed the shrimp with the cajun spices (made my own with onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, cayenne, red pepper flakes and paprika). I added the seasoned shrimp to the "sauce", simmered it until heated through, and served it on orzo. Topped with fresh basil and parmesan cheese. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I used two pounds of shrimp (20-25 ct) instead of one, because I love my shrimp. I also used Farfalle pasta instead of the Linguine because I had it in the house, and it was actually kind of fun because it's more like the size of the shrimp. This was delicious and super easy for a beginner cook - will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
We add some wilted spinach and it is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJ Kinville

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
WONDERFUL! We call it 5-star Pasta and it's a new favorite for us to have on special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
very good! my daughter just made this for dinner, and it was quite tasty! next time, we might add some feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
What an awesome pasta/sauce recipe. Want to note: I didn't use the entire recipe, so I cannot really give a full review of it in its entirety. However, I needed to make a side-dish last night, so I made the pasta and sauce. It was fabulous! The only changes I made (very insignificant, but customized to our family's taste) were: I added a bit more garlic (isn't it supposed to be one of the healthiest foods in the world??), 1 small can of artichoke hearts (to give the sauce a lemony flavor) and 1/2 tbsp of brown sugar to cut the acid. I also added about another 3/4 cup wine (Chardonnay) and about 1-1 1/2 cups of water because, to make the flavor more intense (and because I'm a bit lazy), I decided to cook my pasta in the sauce. When it was done, I added a bit of cornstarch to thicken up the sauce, and threw some Parmesan on top (doesn't everything need cheese on it? lol) and that was it! My family ooooohed and aaaaaaahed about how awesome it was--and, begrudgingly, I had to finally admit it wasn't something I just ingeniously whipped up myself! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celiac_family_mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
DH enjoyed it more than I did. He liked that the sauce was different than most red sauces we have. Me on the other hand, I think it would have been WAY better if I just used a jar of Francesco Rinaldi. Maybe I should have spent a little more money on the wine? Either way, Im giving 4 stars for my husband. He was soo excited to taste it after smelling it for so long! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookityPoo
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Another fantastic recipe by Cindy! Made as written including the 1 cup of cream and fresh basil which Cindy recommends. Quick, easy, plus I think it is even better the next day if you have any leftovers. Bonus - there is still lots of wine in the bottle to enjoy while you make this dish. Thanks for the recipe, Cindy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was pretty good. I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used canned, but the shrimp seemed to overpower this flavor in my opinion. I think I will use chicken next time I make it. My husband LOVED it, though, so I will definitely make it again and use fresh tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Didn't change a thing and it came out terrific! Husband literally said like 5 times. "man this is great" It was so easy too! I used a Pinot Grio for the white wine. Will definately be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States