Linguine Pasta with Shrimp and Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The taste is amazing. I used diced canned tomatoes and it worked fine and a cheap white wine (that I ended up getting drunk off of later in the evening). I kept thinking this could be a $30 plate of food at a fancy restaurant. Will definitely make this again to impress dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I thought this was delicious. Followed the original reciped as given. Very easy also. Used canned diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
outstanding...I added a bit of tomatoe paste and used sherry wine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was excellent - although the cajun seasoning I used was a little too potent for me, but that's no fault of this recipe. I halved this recipe and the only changes were to add about 3/4 tsp of dried oregano, and I cooked the shrimp in with the sauce. Actually, the sauce had cooked down pretty well, so I pushed it off to the side, seared the shrimp slightly in the empty half of the pan, then mixed it all together. The butter really finished the sauce nicely! I'll definitely make this again, but with a cajun seasoning blend that is better suited to my tastes! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Overall, a good recipe for all those fresh tomatoes I picked up at the farmers market. I found this to be QUITE watery, so next time I'd either cook it down a bit more and let the juices evaporate, or I'd seed some of the tomatoes. I took the suggestion and added fresh basil, which I would highly recommend! I tend to lean toward healthy cooking and cutting fat where I can, but I found the butter in the sauce really adds a richness that I surely would've missed! I loved the cajun seasoning on the shrimp, giving the dish a bit of extra flavor and just enough zing. Served over whole wheat linguini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great recipe for using garden tomatoes. We used roma tomatoes that were peeled and seeded. Added some red pepper flakes to the sauce and also used the AR Cajun spice mix for the shrimp. Did not mix the cooked shrimp into the sauce to avoid over cooking and served them over the pasta with sauce. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
We loved it but it needed more sauce..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Made this tonight...It was very good. Husband, adult son and kids loved it. Used large can of diced tomatoes, 3 tablespoons butter, more like 3 tablespoons olive oil, 5-6 cloves of garlic, 2 lbs of shrimp...28-30 large shrimp. Would have like more sauce as it was terrific....used availble wine cabernet sauvignon. Cooked it for about 20 min...then to cook the shrimp I covered the shrimp in cajun seasoning (2 teaspoons at least) and then when I sauteed the shrimp I added 4 chopped scallion onions (green and white part)...very pretty.... served with garlic bread.....Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheeky
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great recipe idea, but I did change it up, so I felt I could only gave it 4 stars as written. First, I used only a half lb of cooked large shrimp because there were only 2 of us, and this sounded like it would be best served fresh, not left over. What I did was saute the garlic, added 2 cups of halved grape tomatoes, the butter, and the wine. I didn't want a thick marinara-type sauce, so I only simmered about 10 min. In the meantime, I tossed the shrimp with the cajun spices (made my own with onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, cayenne, red pepper flakes and paprika). I added the seasoned shrimp to the "sauce", simmered it until heated through, and served it on orzo. Topped with fresh basil and parmesan cheese. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I used two pounds of shrimp (20-25 ct) instead of one, because I love my shrimp. I also used Farfalle pasta instead of the Linguine because I had it in the house, and it was actually kind of fun because it's more like the size of the shrimp. This was delicious and super easy for a beginner cook - will definitely be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States