Linguine and Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
This was very good, I used 3 cans of chopped clams w/all the juice, plus per another reviewer added some chicken boullion w/a little water. I put lots of parmesan on it to make it a little more creamy. My husband made me laugh when he asked "where's the sauce???". He thinks you can't have pasta w/out tomato sauce but after tasting it, he thought it was delicious as is & for me to keep the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Nice recipe. I don't like it when people make big changes, but, I did make a few (trying to use up ingredients from another recipe). I reduced the olive oil to just a few tablespoons and used it to saute the garlic with a little added minced onion. I also added 1/2 cup each of white wine and heavy cream. The dish came out beautifully, but the sauce was even better the next two days for leftovers (became more creamy). Make sure to add the pasta to the sauce and blend before serving, don't pour the sauce over the noodles. Easy, inexpensive and a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Simons Island, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made a couple of changes to the recipe, and it was delicious! Both my husband and I agree that the recipe is a keeper. The first change I made was to add an additional can of clams (without the juice, though), as suggested by other reviewers. I also substituted chicken boullion for the butter - other reviewers had said the sauce was too buttery, and I wanted to cut the calories anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was yummy. I didnt have any parsley, so I didnt use any. It didnt need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
i use less butter and oil and add a jar of clam juice instead it works out better less oily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Wow, so few ingredients yet very flavorful! I will definitely make again. I didn't have any parmesan but didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Very nice and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rickyt51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I feel obligated to point out that true italian cooking is rustic, you have to keep in mind the origins behind a dish. Linguini with clam sauce isn't supposed to be complicated, it's about pasta and clams with a nice rich subtle dressing. I have made this several times and I use 3 cans of minced clams, 1/4 - 1/2 a bottle of clam juice, more garlic and omit the parmesan. I also heavily salt the pasta water to flavor the pasta and add salt and pepper to taste before combining. I always serve this with a nice crusty italian loaf and I usualy pair it with an Australian Reisling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr.Gazer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Easy, quick and tastes great. Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I have been making a very similar recipe for years. It calls for 1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper, 1 tsp oregano and 2 tsp basil. With the addition of the herbs, this is better than any restaurant version I have had, but be mindful of the calories! Use whole grain pasta to off set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Millinocket, Maine, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States