Linda's Monster Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These cookies tasted good, but they were flat and spread out all over the cookie sheet. It seems to me that the recipe calls for an excessive amount of shortening (I have never heard of using both butter AND margarine), which may be the cause.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Just the recipe I was looking for. I halved it and did 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup peanut butter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I never thought I would be one of "those"..that rate a recipe based on changes I made. HOWEVER, I did read several reviews on this recipe and decided that I love peanut butter so much I had to try it in this cookie. I used 1/2 cup of p.b. instead of 1/2 cup of the butter. Next time I will do a full cup, but this recipe turned out awesome! I have only tried monster cookies once, and they spread all over the pan and weren't like cookies at all. This turned out super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Great recipe. Add raisins to help make it more chewy / healthy. Spread out on cookie sheet. Watch first couple of batches carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
These cookies are good but not what I am used to... as I was mixing the batter I realized there was no peanut butter in the recipe! So I added a half cup. I wanted to add more but I didn't want to alter the recipe too much out of fear they wouldn't bake right. They turned out okay but still didn't have enough peanut butter taste and ended up harder than I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I am the poster of the recipe. I am so pleased to see that so many people have enjoyed this recipe. I realized that in my description I forgot to mention I got the recipe from a restaurant I used to work at. That is why it makes such a large batch. I actually half the recipe when I make it too! At the restaurant we would bake a whole batch, fill the cookie container and freeze the rest. Then pull out cookies as needed. They really do taste chewy after they thaw out, but are even better if you microwave them for a few seconds. At the restaurant I used to send my through the bun toaster and then top with vanilla ice cream. Delicious! Makes a great cookie sundae.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
We made these delicious cookies for a 4H bake sale. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
These were SO good! I've never had monster cookies without peanut butter & I was very excited to find this recipe as I have a niece with a peanut allergy. Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Wert, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This is a huge recipe. I wanted about 1/2 so I used 1 1/2 cups of butter, 1/2 cup of peanut butter (instead of the butter / margarine the recipe called for) and then 1/2 of all of the other ingredients...and it still made dozens of cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
These are the BEST! I did make a couple of changes though...instead of using butter I replace it with an equal amount of peanut butter. Also added a small amount of light of light corn syrup...maybe about 1 teaspoon or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States