Linda's Monster Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Great recipe! Was asked to make cookies on short notice, so had to use what I had in the house. I never have margarine, so I used all butter. Didn't have any candy pieces, so used coconut and butterscotch chips along with the chocolate chips. I also forgot to put in the salt. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skoobydrew
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I added peanut butter and nuts included the butter and margarin. I mixed it in a stand mixer. They came out perfect, I couldn't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Love love this recipe! Used 11/2 cups of peanut butter instead of butter, 4 tsp of vanilla, plus I added pecans and raisins withe candy pieces, choco chips plus a couple tablespoons of heavy cream!! Delish! Kids and family love! Sweet oh but goodness!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
So good!!! But I cut the recipe in half as I definitely did not need 70 cookies! When I cut it in half, I just took the margarine out completely and added just a cup of butter! I prefer to only bake with butter and they turned out incredible!! Definitely will bake these over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My sister is the original poster of this recipe so I've eaten the cookies exactly as the recipe states and they are good. BUT, here's MY tweak on the recipe which I yields cookies that stay chewy for several days sealed in a freezer bag or container without getting stale. I never buy margarine because I like butter on everything. LOL So in place of margarine I used 1 Cup Butter Flavor Crisco. (This keeps them from going stale as fast as they would using all butter.) I also added 1 Cup of Jif Creamy Peanut Butter. That's it! Absolutely delicious! Unlike some reviewers, my kids & I think this recipe makes just the right amount, about 50 Large Cookies (using the medium sized Pampered Chef scoop, heaped with dough.) We ate a bunch hot from the oven. I froze 1/4 of the cookies in a freezer bag, but alas, we finished the rest in like 3 days and pulled out he frozen ones right away, not even allowing them to thaw. I use a Kitchen Aid mixer and this dough fills up the bowl to within an inch from the top. Stirring in the candy & chips at the end is a bit challenging, but worth it. I like pecans or peanuts in cookies so Maybe next time I will do 1/2 a batch with nuts for the adults & 1/2 without nuts for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
these are the BEST cookies ever!!!!!! I just made them and i made a few adjustments: 1 cup peanut butter instead of margrine, 4 eggs plus 1 egg yolk, baked them for 9 minutes. SOO GOOD! THANK YOU SOO MUCH FOR THIS RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Super, super yummy! I made two batches. I did the first exactly as the recipe stated. They turned out marvelous. The second batch I wanted peanut butter so used 1/2 c margarine 1/2 c butter and 1 c crunchy peanut butter. Delish! Either way these were superb. I froze half of the dough in balls and when we want some
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Delicious !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is a great recipe, I changed a few things in it, only because I wanted to, not because it needed it. I replaced the cup of margarine with 3/4 cup natural peanut butter and 1/4 unsweetened apple sauce. I ground almonds and used that as part of the rolled oats, I also replaced the semi-sweet chocolate chips with white chocolate chips and added white raisins. They are delish!!!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
The only real change I made was to use shortening instead of margarine. Like others have said, margarine just didn't seem 'right'. I also halved the recipe and I still ended up with a ton. I used mini M&M as well. In my opinion, these cookies are fabulous! Nice a chewy the way a good cookie is meant to be (in my books at least). I will be making this one again. I may try substituting half the chocolate chips for peanut butter chips, or using peanut butter as others have said. Either way, these cookies are good just the way they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKY7575

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States