Linda's Monster Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I have made this recipe several times altering different aspects each time and to me this is the best cookie recipe ever. The changes I made were 1 1/2 cups of peanut butter instead of 1 cup butter, 3 cups flour and 5 cups oatmeal, not 4 and 4, 4 teaspoons of vanila instead of 2, 3/4 cup of the candy not 1 cup and add 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. Also these cookies bake up best when they are large. I roll the cookie dough into a ball slightly larger than a golf ball. If you try to make smaller cookies you end up with a lot of the candy and chocolate chips on the outside of the cookie not baked inside. I always make the full recipe and freeze most of them. These are delicious fresh but tend to stale quickly. I freeze any cookies that won't be eaten in 3-4 days. They defrost quickly and taste as though they were baked that day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
These were awesome! I made a half batch which was just right. I substituted peanut butter for the butter and made sure to have lots of M&M's. I used my hands to press dough into balls and baked just 10 minutes. They were chewy and stayed fresh. My new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
WHO would actually complain to your face about your cookies??? This recipe is the best! I make this not only for my family, but for church functions, friends, etc. This makes a huge batch of delicious cookies. The texture from the oatmeal, chocolate chips, and M & M's (which is what I use) is perfect. These cookies turn out perfect every time I bake them. I attribute this to the stoneware which I use to bake cookies. I also use real butter in place of the margarine. (Cookies without REAL butter just taste blah, in my opinion.) I have had many requests for this recipe. Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
These are some of the best cookies I have ever eaten!!! I read previous reviews and here's how I adjusted mine. Baked at 325 for 13-14 minutes, no burning. Instead of maragine I added an additional 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of peanut butter. Next time I may change to add a little more peanut butter, because I like the taste of peanut butter, it was not overpowering though. Since I made this for bake sale I used red and blue M&M's for the candy. I also sprinkled red, white and blue sprinkles on top before baking. They looked so festive. BEWARE this recipe makes a ton of cookies I ended up with like 9 dozen, you may want to half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
These are FABULOUS! I substituted equal amounts of peanut butter for margarine, but I'm sure just butter would be wonderful as well. I used the pampered chef large scoop for the size and patted them down just a bit before baking...perfect! I didn't grease the cookie sheets because I used one of those Tupperware silicone wonder mats, worked great. I can't say enough about these cookies, I've been searching for the "staple" monster cookie recipe and quite pleased this is it! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
Good recipe. I made a few changes. Eliminated margarine, I couldn't bring myself to use it!!!! I added 1/2 cup butter & 1 cup peanut butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
My husband came home from work raving about Monster cookies that another wife sent in. So, I figured I needed to try them. They are pretty good and easy to make. A really nice change from plain chocolate chip cookies. They are huge though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
"I made these today for Valentine's day for my Sunday school class and my own kids. I used 3 cups of holiday candy pieces and 1 cup of chocolate chips. Like the preceeding review, I didn't use margarine, I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup peanut butter instead. Shaped into 2 inch balls or larger, and placed a giant craft stick in the center of the balls. I than flattened slightly with a fork. I did bake them for 14 minutes, because I think everyones ovens are different. After cookies are cooled wrap in holiday goodie bags. These were the best monster cookies ever. Thanks they were a big hit!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These are a very good cookie; a pleasant change from the usual choc chip. I followed the recipe as is, but next time I will increase the amount of M&M's and use mini choc chips as opposed to regular. My first batch was rather thin, so the following batches I increases the cookie size in hopes of having a chewier cookie. Looks good so far, but they aren't totally cool yet so they may still fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
Great cookies. Makes a ton of cookies. 40 giant ones! I used 2 1/2 sticks butter and 1 cup of peanut butter instead of margarine(next I will try with all butter). Also I dropped by 1/4 cupfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets and baked at 325 for 15-16 minutes and they were perfect. Larger cookies like these need to be kept in airtight container. Mine didn't go hard. Very delicious and full of so many great flavors with crunch on edges and soft in the middle(overcook and they will be hard in the middle- that's why take out at 15 minutes). Can't wait to try and add some coconut or maybe some milk chocolate and semi sweet mix next! I used old fashioned oats but next time I will either blend them first or use the quick cook ones-because they were a little crunchy in the cookie. Good share-THANKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States