Linda's Monster Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is my favorite cookie recipe! I've been making it for about 6 yrs. and I always get rave reviews. I substitute peanut butter for the margarine and make 1/2 recipe. I use the med. Pampered Chef scoop (about 2 T.) for each cookie and bake for 11 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
THESE COOKIES ARE EXCELLENT! I was looking to make the same monster cookies you buy from Sobey's Bakery (IGA) and these have oatmeal, which I wasn't thrilled about at first... They are everyone's favourite... It makes 2 icecream pail's full and I've made them SEVERAL times -- Candy pieces-- Smarties are a must!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
ADDICTIVE. I half the recipe when i make these. Instead of margerine I use smooth peanut butter. These are really delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Huge batch to make with original recipe. I may cut it in half next time. They worked out well for giving out some holiday cookies. Tasty chewy cookies with a great texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER_ARTISTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
After looking at MANY different recipes and reading lots of reviews for this one on this site; I used several of the other's suggestions and this is what I came up with. I used 1 1/2 cups of peanut butter, 1 cup of butter, 2 3/4 cups of brown sugar, 3/4 cups of white sugar (this was plenty sweet for our taste). I increased vanilla to 2 Tbl. only used about 3 1/4 cup flour, increased the oatmeal to 5 cups and used half quick cooking and half regular. I also followed another's suggestion and ran this through my mini food processor. I used 1 cup of mini chocolate chips and 1 cup of mini M&M pieces, 1 cup of chopped pecans and 1 cup of coconut. Made golf ball size rolls, flattened slightly and baked for 11 minutes at 350. These came out looking really nice, not dry, held their shape and tasted great! Soft and chewy. I got 6 dozen out of my recipe with cookies about 3 inches across. I have never eaten Monster Cookies but I liked the idea of them having peanut butter and I followed another's suggestion and made a few tweaks of my own. That said, I still think they are a 5 star but since I made so many changes, I wasn't sure how to rate this. I think you could really just "play with" this basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Texas, USA
Living In: Overton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was ALMOST 5 stars, because I think all monster cookies should have peanut butter! I followed the recipe and added a 1/2 cup of peanut butter when creaming the sugar, butter and eggs. They turned out fantastic, but I did have to bake them about 11 minutes to get chewy cookies. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
taste much better after freezing I found, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canning Vale, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
These are a very good cookie; a pleasant change from the usual choc chip. I followed the recipe as is, but next time I will increase the amount of M&M's and use mini choc chips as opposed to regular. My first batch was rather thin, so the following batches I increases the cookie size in hopes of having a chewier cookie. Looks good so far, but they aren't totally cool yet so they may still fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I made these once now every time my kids have a youth event, I'm asked to bring a batch. People who don't like oatmeal cookies are always surprised when that ask about what is in them. Thanks for giving me a fool proof recipe that makes lots of big cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States