Linda's Monster Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
better tasting then looking :). But my kids loved them. I thought they needed a bit of something. Like maybe a peanut candie vs a chocolate...idk maybe just me. I'm a chocolate lover sooooo maybe i'm being picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I halved it, its a big recipe, and added coconut for a little more kick. Also, I didnt have enough oats so just added another cup of flour. Turned out great! Chewy in the center and crispy on the sides! A big hit at work..... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elbow Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I cut this recipe in half and it's a good thing I did because just half a batch made a TON. I made a few changes, just for what we like in our home. I doubled the vanilla, used half chopped pecans and cashews in place of half of the oatmeal, ground the oatmeal down in my blender for a smoother consistancy and upped the amount of M&M's. (I only had dark chocolate peanut M&M's, so I used those. A whole family sized bag, that is.) I also added half a package of Reese's peanut butter chips just to use it up. I used my #40 cookie scoop to make uniform cookies. 350* for 11 minutes was about right for these. Very good. Note: This gets knocked down to three stars because they dry out so bad and get stale. Wasted ingredients is no fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Had this recipe suggested by a friend and it was fantastic! We add 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon which adds a little zest. I shared these with my parents and sometimes when I come home the ingredients are waiting for me to use! Definitely a goodin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PappyCat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
The only change I made was cutting the recipe in half and these cookies were very gooey when done, the middle was almost uncooked...I left them in a bit longer the second time and they were too hard....would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Pretty good cookie. I baked at a lower temperature, so the cookie would spread out and bake the way I prefer it. I also used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to scoop out the dough and I rolled in into balls and dropped on the sheet for a larger cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These cookies tasted good, but they were flat and spread out all over the cookie sheet. It seems to me that the recipe calls for an excessive amount of shortening (I have never heard of using both butter AND margarine), which may be the cause.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Just the recipe I was looking for. I halved it and did 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup peanut butter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I never thought I would be one of "those"..that rate a recipe based on changes I made. HOWEVER, I did read several reviews on this recipe and decided that I love peanut butter so much I had to try it in this cookie. I used 1/2 cup of p.b. instead of 1/2 cup of the butter. Next time I will do a full cup, but this recipe turned out awesome! I have only tried monster cookies once, and they spread all over the pan and weren't like cookies at all. This turned out super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Great recipe. Add raisins to help make it more chewy / healthy. Spread out on cookie sheet. Watch first couple of batches carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States