Linda's Monster Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
First of all, I bake ALL the time. I made the recipe exactly as written and the first cookie sheet did not turn out at all, I actually had to scrape them off and ended up with a giant mound of cooked mess. I added more flour, and more baking powder and got a somewhat edible cookie with the rest of the batch, they still stuck some so the bottom of the cookies have hollow spots. It feels like ALOT of people had to modify this recipe to get it into something they "loved". I will not be making these again. I'll just use another Monster cookie recipe from this site that doesn't require modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Luckily my boyfriend and his friend eat anything, but in my eyes, they are not up to par. I have been baking for years and years and have made monster cookies before that were pretty good. I thought I'd try this new recipe for something different, and I will never make this again. I would not put margarine again, and put maybe 1 tsp of baking soda to 2 tsp of baking powder. They were so flat and never set. Monster cookies are to have a larger circumference as well as height. Not making this again. I was absolutely embarassed that these turned out so terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
better tasting then looking :). But my kids loved them. I thought they needed a bit of something. Like maybe a peanut candie vs a chocolate...idk maybe just me. I'm a chocolate lover sooooo maybe i'm being picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I halved it, its a big recipe, and added coconut for a little more kick. Also, I didnt have enough oats so just added another cup of flour. Turned out great! Chewy in the center and crispy on the sides! A big hit at work..... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elbow Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I cut this recipe in half and it's a good thing I did because just half a batch made a TON. I made a few changes, just for what we like in our home. I doubled the vanilla, used half chopped pecans and cashews in place of half of the oatmeal, ground the oatmeal down in my blender for a smoother consistancy and upped the amount of M&M's. (I only had dark chocolate peanut M&M's, so I used those. A whole family sized bag, that is.) I also added half a package of Reese's peanut butter chips just to use it up. I used my #40 cookie scoop to make uniform cookies. 350* for 11 minutes was about right for these. Very good. Note: This gets knocked down to three stars because they dry out so bad and get stale. Wasted ingredients is no fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Had this recipe suggested by a friend and it was fantastic! We add 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon which adds a little zest. I shared these with my parents and sometimes when I come home the ingredients are waiting for me to use! Definitely a goodin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PappyCat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
The only change I made was cutting the recipe in half and these cookies were very gooey when done, the middle was almost uncooked...I left them in a bit longer the second time and they were too hard....would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Pretty good cookie. I baked at a lower temperature, so the cookie would spread out and bake the way I prefer it. I also used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to scoop out the dough and I rolled in into balls and dropped on the sheet for a larger cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These cookies tasted good, but they were flat and spread out all over the cookie sheet. It seems to me that the recipe calls for an excessive amount of shortening (I have never heard of using both butter AND margarine), which may be the cause.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Just the recipe I was looking for. I halved it and did 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup peanut butter. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States