Linda's Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I'm not sure what makes this 'Irish' as traditional cottage pies - shepherd's pies are made with ground lamb, cottage pies with ground beef - always have a mashed potato topping. I made the meat filling as the recipe stated, but found it incredibly bland and watery. I added onion powder, lots of ground black pepper, Worcestershire sauce, and some Bisto gravy granules. This improved it, but I wish I had added some peas or green beans. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
sooo yummy!! I really love this recipe. I have been making it for everyone I know. Not only is it easy to make, if you put cheese on top, it is the most beautiful sight-----a keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I had to make some modifications to this recipe due to food allergies. It turned out amazing. My sauce combined 2tbs Worchestershire sauce + Beef Stock + 1/3 cup Basalmic vinegar + seasoned salt. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
The Irish call Cottage Pie Shepherd's pie, and they bung any kind of meat in it, although a traditional Shepherd's Pie is made with lamb and a Cottage Pie with beef. Nuff said. I'm just rating this on the basis of the recipe. It needs peas and carrots big time, and I'd leave out the part with the flour, margarine, ketchup, consomme and especially the browning sauce, you shouldn't need it. Use the consomme (or beef stock) by all means, and a touch of flour to thicken, but I normally simmer everything until the sauce thickens, it's very important not to have too much moisture in the filling, as it'll rise to the top while cooking and ruin the mashed spuds. Use a bit of tomato puree and some herbs if you're feeling adventurous, I use thyme, rosemary and parsley, but they aren't everyone's cup of tea, so use accordingly, and don't forget the Worcester sauce (ONLY from Lea and Perrins!!!) and a teaspoonful of COLEMAN'S!!! powdered mustard in the sauce, now you're cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This cottage pie needs vegetables. Both my husband and I did not like it. I prefer it with frozen peas, green beans, carrots, corn and a little tomato sauce but due to the liquid from the veggies, there is no need to add it. Any shredded cheese on top gives it a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I left out the beef consomme since it was never mentioned in the directions and instead added a can of beef gravy to the meat and left out the ketchup and seasoning sauce. I also topped the pie with a homemade pie crust and it came out awesome! I think next time I will add the cheese before the potato since my cheese did not melt very well. Everyone loved it and the pie crust really made it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Too soupy...I'll cut down the amout of liquid I add next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I did not add beef consomme or browning sauce, I did add about 2cups of water and about 2 tbls of beef bouillon to the flour paste. I added corn and peas the beef mix and it came out better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Kathryn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I used this as a basis for my Shepherd's Pie. We had leftover roast beef etc., so I shredded up the beef instead of the ground beef, and used the leftover gravy for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States