Linda's Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Recipe doesn't tell when to add the beef consomme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I left out the beef consomme since it was never mentioned in the directions and instead added a can of beef gravy to the meat and left out the ketchup and seasoning sauce. I also topped the pie with a homemade pie crust and it came out awesome! I think next time I will add the cheese before the potato since my cheese did not melt very well. Everyone loved it and the pie crust really made it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I had to make some modifications to this recipe due to food allergies. It turned out amazing. My sauce combined 2tbs Worchestershire sauce + Beef Stock + 1/3 cup Basalmic vinegar + seasoned salt. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I'm not sure what makes this 'Irish' as traditional cottage pies - shepherd's pies are made with ground lamb, cottage pies with ground beef - always have a mashed potato topping. I made the meat filling as the recipe stated, but found it incredibly bland and watery. I added onion powder, lots of ground black pepper, Worcestershire sauce, and some Bisto gravy granules. This improved it, but I wish I had added some peas or green beans. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Too soupy...I'll cut down the amout of liquid I add next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I used this as a basis for my Shepherd's Pie. We had leftover roast beef etc., so I shredded up the beef instead of the ground beef, and used the leftover gravy for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is an enjoyable recipe. Timely to make but enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmajors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
sooo yummy!! I really love this recipe. I have been making it for everyone I know. Not only is it easy to make, if you put cheese on top, it is the most beautiful sight-----a keeper for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
THIS IS A VERY GOOD RECIPE VERY FAST .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This is the best Shepherd's Pie we've ever eaten. My husband loves it as much as the Shepherd's Pie his mother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States