Linda's Fake and Bake Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
This is a great baked chicken recipe. It has a great flavor and my family all agreed that it is a "do again" recipe. Make sure to use a shallow baking dish as stated--too high can cause the chicken to get soggy instead of chrisp. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Cornelius, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
My family loved this chicken, I used boneless/skinless breasts and reduced the cooking time to 35 minutes. VERY tasty !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
Nothing fake about this recipe Linda! I used breast pieces but skinned them before I decided to marinate them in buttermilk and hot sauce. The buttermilk really makes the chicken very moist and tender. Because I used the buttermilk I obviously didn't need the evaporated milk or the lemon. I used larger amounts of the seasonings plus a bit of cayenne and the chicken came out so delicious! Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
To make it crispier, place the chicken on a rack and then in the pan. I use a cake cooling rack that has bars across it like a grill. This helps keep the bottom from getting soggy and the breadcrumbs from sticking to the pan. This is good also with grated parmesan cheese in with the crumbs mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Really really good and very simple. I used skinless boneless chicken breasts because I can't deal with bones! The chicken was juicy on the inside and crunchy on the outside. We dipped it in honey mustard sauce. The next day, we used leftovers to have chicken sandwiches. It takes about 10 minutes to prepare..great when you're tired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This is a great basic oven fried chicken recipe--crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. As other reviewers did, I used regular milk (instead of evaporated,) and only about half the salt. I also placed the chicken on a rack above a cookie sheet, which allowed the chicken to bake up crispy on all sides. I used garlic flavored cooking spray which added a bit of extra flavor, too. This also seems like a very versatile recipe where you could add different spices, parmesan cheese, etc. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This was pretty good. I did as others suggested and placed it on a rack on top of a cookie sheet, which helped the sogginess. I cooked it much less time than recommended. Also, there is WAY too much salt in this recipe -- and I like salt. We couldn't taste any of the rest of our food because it was so overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This was really good and pretty easy. I pulled the skin off of some chicken pieces and left it on others so my dinner guests could decide. For breadcrumbs I used Japanese style panko crumbs (find at CostPlus-highly recommend). I used a jelly roll pan and put the chicken on a cooling rack like someone else suggested. Worked great. Like others have said, you won't be fooled into thinking it's fried chicken but it's better than Shake and bake. The chicken had a nice crisp coating, the breading stayed on and the meat was moist. I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Yum! I used chicken thighs without skins. They were so moist and delicious! We had freinds over and everyone raved! I didn't have a rack to cook it on, so I used my broiler pan and it worked great. *Make sure you let the butter cool some before you add it to the milk and egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY509

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
This chicken was very good. I wasn't fooled into thinking it was fried chicken, but the overall result was very tasty. The breadcrumb mixture has great combination of seasonings. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States