Linda's Fake and Bake Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I used CAJUN seasoning (in place of onion, garlic powder & paprika), normal breadcrumbs & normal milk (no evaporated milk @ home) & it turned out just as good! I didn't spray any oil since I don't have that. My husband likes it a lot, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SK_AL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Uddevalla, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
Nothing fake about this recipe Linda! I used breast pieces but skinned them before I decided to marinate them in buttermilk and hot sauce. The buttermilk really makes the chicken very moist and tender. Because I used the buttermilk I obviously didn't need the evaporated milk or the lemon. I used larger amounts of the seasonings plus a bit of cayenne and the chicken came out so delicious! Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Really really good and very simple. I used skinless boneless chicken breasts because I can't deal with bones! The chicken was juicy on the inside and crunchy on the outside. We dipped it in honey mustard sauce. The next day, we used leftovers to have chicken sandwiches. It takes about 10 minutes to prepare..great when you're tired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
I followed this recipe to the T with the exception of the amount of chicken. I used 2 lbs. of boneless/skinless chicken breast and had just enough coating to coat the last piece. Everyone loved it. The kids were not interested so next time I will take one breast and cut it up into chucks THEN roll it. Then the kids can have Fake and Bake Nuggets! I served it with mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli w/ cheese on top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemon jar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mims, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
I liked the idea of this recipe... but had to substitute so maybe it didn't taste quite right. Used 1.5 cups of bread crumbs (no corn flakes on hand) and they weren't all seasoned. I think the *seasoned* part of "bread crumbs" is important, flavor-wise. My husband raved about the chicken itself (I used drumsticks) But the coating was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This was very good. I removed the skin before coating and it was still juicy. I also used additional coating just my taste. The family loved it. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
My husband loved this variation for "Fried Chicken"... I would recommend making sure your oven is nice and hot before setting in the chicken. If you've ever been to AQ Chicken in Arkansas, this recipe reminds me of them. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by photobleacher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
Linda, This is a great chicken recipe. It was delicious. I froze some and when I took it out of the freezer, I put it in my toaster oven and it was just as crisp and delicious. The only thing different is I was missing 2 ingredients, paprika and onion powder. Also I had to remove the skin because of colesterol. But I want you to know it was still very moist inside and crisp on the outside. This is a definite keeper. Thanks for sharing. Airama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
Great recipe--thanks, Linda. True, tis still "fake", but the 1st fake to get "Please make again" raves--probably becos I used bone in/skin on/thighs. From now on, I'll do my fanatic fat free dieting elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I used the amount of chicken pieces stated in the recipe and had no where near enough of the crumb mixture. Also I did have a problem with soggy bottoms. (I used a shallow baking dish.) But even with those issues, this was very tasty chicken. Didn't make me think of fried chicken but much much yummier than store bought shake n bake. My family enjoyed it and I felt good about serving them a healthier alternative to fried chicken. I will serve this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States