Linda's Fake and Bake Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
To make it crispier, place the chicken on a rack and then in the pan. I use a cake cooling rack that has bars across it like a grill. This helps keep the bottom from getting soggy and the breadcrumbs from sticking to the pan. This is good also with grated parmesan cheese in with the crumbs mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
Very tasty starter recipe, but needs some help. I used fresh drumsticks, they didn't crisp up at all, although they were very moist! I spiced up the coating as was suggested, and it still needed alot of help. I will definately try this again with a much more spice. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodstock, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
A VERY TASTY AND EASY TO MAKE RECIPE. WE FELT THAT IT WASN'T SPICY ENOUGH (WE HAD TO USE REGULAR RATHER THAN SEASONED BREAD CRUMBS DUE TO ALLERGIES). NEXT TIME WE WILL ADD ADDITIONAL SPICES WE ENJOY. WE WILL DEFINETLY USE THIS RECIPE AGAIN. OUR THANKS TO LINDA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This is the BEST baked chicken I have ever had. It was moist and had a great flavor. My husband liked it and he doesn't like baked chicken, only fried. I will definetly be making my chicken this way all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
This recipe was a great alternative for frying. I also took the skin off like another reviewer suggested. The chicken was still very moist. I think the crumb mixture does need a little bit more seasoning. I think next time I will try more garlic or maybe a cajun seasoning. I will definitely make this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
This is good and fairly easy. The only change I made was to use regular milk because that's all I had at the time. It turned out good. Next time I think I will add some Frank's hot sause to the milk and egg mixture to add a little flavor and kick. Great non-fry recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
Good, but not great. I substituted crushed Italian croutons for cornflakes to give it more zip. But because of the low baking temperature, the battered coating was a bit soggy around the edges, which I found unappetizing. I would suggest a higher temperature, 400 degrees, and shorter baking time to make a crispier coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I used CAJUN seasoning (in place of onion, garlic powder & paprika), normal breadcrumbs & normal milk (no evaporated milk @ home) & it turned out just as good! I didn't spray any oil since I don't have that. My husband likes it a lot, will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SK_AL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Uddevalla, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
Nothing fake about this recipe Linda! I used breast pieces but skinned them before I decided to marinate them in buttermilk and hot sauce. The buttermilk really makes the chicken very moist and tender. Because I used the buttermilk I obviously didn't need the evaporated milk or the lemon. I used larger amounts of the seasonings plus a bit of cayenne and the chicken came out so delicious! Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
Really really good and very simple. I used skinless boneless chicken breasts because I can't deal with bones! The chicken was juicy on the inside and crunchy on the outside. We dipped it in honey mustard sauce. The next day, we used leftovers to have chicken sandwiches. It takes about 10 minutes to prepare..great when you're tired!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States