Linda's Fake and Bake Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Yum! I used chicken thighs without skins. They were so moist and delicious! We had freinds over and everyone raved! I didn't have a rack to cook it on, so I used my broiler pan and it worked great. *Make sure you let the butter cool some before you add it to the milk and egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY509

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
As suggested by another reviewer, I used buttermilk instead of evaporated milk and it worked out very nicely. I also added a little Old Bay spice, but omitted the onion powder as I didn't have any. The chicken was very moist and tender, but I rated it only three stars because I still felt the chicken lacked flavour. It wasn't offensive at all, just a little on the boring side. I also want to note that I cooked the chicken on a raised rack as suggested and the bottom of my chicken was not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I followed this recipe exactly; not using skinless chicken. It was just ok. Nothing special. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This was pretty good. I did as others suggested and placed it on a rack on top of a cookie sheet, which helped the sogginess. I cooked it much less time than recommended. Also, there is WAY too much salt in this recipe -- and I like salt. We couldn't taste any of the rest of our food because it was so overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NKTAUBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Very good for fake fried chicken. Added a little more garlic powder and used buttermilk (1 cup) instead of evap milk and lemon. Chicken was moist and crust was crispy and flavorful. I also cooked it on a non stick rack so the bottoms were not soggy. Bigger pieces of chicken took 15 min longer to cook. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This was a hit at my house. I made all drumsticks (kids' preference) and they turned out crispy on the outside and moist on the inside. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
My family loved this recipe. I am always trying to find new ways to make chicken. I followed the recipe exact and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2005
This was really good and pretty easy. I pulled the skin off of some chicken pieces and left it on others so my dinner guests could decide. For breadcrumbs I used Japanese style panko crumbs (find at CostPlus-highly recommend). I used a jelly roll pan and put the chicken on a cooling rack like someone else suggested. Worked great. Like others have said, you won't be fooled into thinking it's fried chicken but it's better than Shake and bake. The chicken had a nice crisp coating, the breading stayed on and the meat was moist. I would definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Thanks Linda! The chicken turned out moist and juicy. I did add more seasoning and doubled the corn flake and bread crumbs otherwise there would not have been enough to coat the entire chicken. My family says I can make this anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken a la Mayo

See how to make succulent baked chicken with a crispy, corn flake crust.

Oven-Fried Chicken II

See a delicious, healthier way to make fried chicken.

Easy Chicken Parmesan Bake

This could be the fastest, easiest chicken Parmesan you’ll ever make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States