Limoncello Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
My friends and family LOVE this recipe. However, I found that when you reduce the sugar by half, the flavors become more alive. I have now tried this recipe using lemons, limes, grapefuit and tangerines...and it is all fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
637 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Was a hit at my summer party,( A little tip) for server,cut a half a gallon milk carton in half,place bottle of limoncello in the center, fill with water and flowers and freeze overnight.peel back carton and serve on a plate and have a towel handy. This will guarentee limoncello stays chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
371 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This is worth the effort. It's much easier to peel the lemons and use the peels than to zest them. Just, make sure you leave the pith (the nasty white part )on the lemons. It will make your Limoncello slightly cloudy and bitter tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Great recipe! I also cut the sugar down to 2 cups (also 2.5 C of water), and I boiled lemonzest with the sugar/water mix to add a stronger lemon flavor to the whole thing. (Note: leftover lemon syrup is great for flavoring other drinks or making Italian sodas as well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I am currently stationed in Naples, Italy. I took a class on how to make Limoncello, trust me on this, use 1 Liter of Everclear, and 1 Liter of water. I have talked to people that said Vodka does not do it justice. We were taught to use a potatoe peeler, you don't want any of the white, it makes it taste bitter. Other than that, follow the recipe wrt sugar and the time line. Remeber to keep this in the freezer prior to drinking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used a veggie peeler on my lemons, which made this much more manageable. I used organic lemons, since I figured it's the one time where the part of the lemon I'm the most interested in is the outside! After peeling off chunks of peel, I flipped them over and scraped them with the side of my knife to remove all of the pith. The end result made enough for x-mas presents for a few people and some for me to keep as well! My recommendation for drinking this: mix with pomegranite juice or cranberry juice. The flavors work so perfectly together, it tastes like you're drinking candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Good if you prefer the 'clear' limoncello. I personally prefer the creamy version and have a recipe from a native Italian that is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Limoncello is a really good drink. This recipe has worked 2/4 times I tried it. You have to be really careful to get just the zest or it will ruin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Some suggestion. Since you are using only the outer skin of the lemon, look for organic lemons that have not been treated with nasty stuff. Look for lemon varieties that have a thick skin and are high in essential oils. Try peeling thin strips with a potato peeler. A zester will prematurely release the oils in the skin. Try to avoid the pith (white part) as this is what causes bitterness. Also try an alternative sweetener such as agave instead of refined sugar for a warmer palate feel. This recipe will create a Limoncello that is a little low in alcohol over traditional Limoncello. If you are using Vodka (40% 80 proof) the final alcohol will be less that 20% instead of 30-35%. It will freeze at this proof. A higher proof alcohol will extract out the oils and color faster. We love Limoncello so much we started a company in Sonoma to produce it commercially. Check out www.hellosonoma.com Salute! Limoncello di Sonoma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Hello I am English. I a have visited Italy and drunk Limoncello there. Is this similar to the way it is made in Italy? I intend to give it a go anyway Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Strawberry Lemonade Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a vodka strawberry lemonade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States