Limoncello Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
Hello I am English. I a have visited Italy and drunk Limoncello there. Is this similar to the way it is made in Italy? I intend to give it a go anyway Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This is worth the effort. It's much easier to peel the lemons and use the peels than to zest them. Just, make sure you leave the pith (the nasty white part )on the lemons. It will make your Limoncello slightly cloudy and bitter tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
The limoncella was good, but it took ages to make. By the time I was finally done making my huge Christmas batch, I didn't want to try any of it myself. This is definitely not an endeavor for the impatient or faint of heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2004
Although time consuming,it was worth the wait. I keep it in the freezer and it is always a hit with guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I let mine sit in freezer for a few months, me thinks it got stronger. Worth the wait. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Tedious to make, but worth it! This is a real crowd pleaser for dinner parties. The longer you age it in the freezer the smoother it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hopatcong, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
I had forgotten that I made this and stashed in the freezer until I found it this weekend. Followed the recipe exactly and it was delicious! We have had a very hot and humid summer and this was such an OH so refreshing treat. Can hardly wait to enjoy another glass of it tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
this drink is so incredibly sweet. Is there a mixture that anyone has tried to cut the sweetness? A drink made with the Limoncello as a base? As I have three bottles of it in the freezer, I would like to be able to use it. Thanks in advance for any help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
First time too sweet and too weak. Second time dropped the sugar to 2 cups and changed to Grain Alcohol... now we have a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
We mix limoncello, about 6 juiced lemons, vodka and fresh mint in a quart pitcher with ice. I never really measure anything, just do it to taste. Shake vigorously, then serve over ice and garnish with a sprig of fresh mint. This recipe makes delicious limoncello, but drinking it straight isn't to my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Strawberry Lemonade Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a vodka strawberry lemonade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States