Limoncello Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Takes some time, but well worth the wait. I always have a bottle waiting in my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taylors Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gracey
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This limoncello recipe is the real deal! We like it, but it is really strong. Its sweet taste is deceiving, and may lead you to believe it is pretty "harmless"... but beware, it isn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Love this recipe, I made a few changes to make things easier for me. First I poured off just enough Vodka (100 proof) out of the bottle to fit the lemon peel directly into the Vodka bottle. I then aged this for three weeks. After combining the simple syrup with this mixture, I poured it back into the Vodka bottle and an emptied, cleaned wine bottle (or two if needed). I let this age for three weeks as well, then strained. I think leaving the zest in the mix for the second aging increased the lemon flavor and helped balance the sweetness. Thank you for providing the recipe, its so much better than storebought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This was VERY sweet. I would agree to cut the sugar by about half for a smoother drink. I used a microplane zester for all the lemons and it went very quickly. I'm going to go with 4 stars, with the sugar cut down this would be very nice, as is, it's crazy sweet (even for me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Try mixing this with Italian Blood Orange Soda for a gorgeous as well as over the top cocktail ! I get my soda at Target but many grocery stores have it. Put the Limoncello in a tall glass over ice cubes and then slowly pour the soda, which is a dark red orange color, down the side of the glass. Beautiful color combo as well as flavor....ENJOY !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Motorhomegal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Loose the Vodka and use Everclear instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Good if you prefer the 'clear' limoncello. I personally prefer the creamy version and have a recipe from a native Italian that is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used a veggie peeler on my lemons, which made this much more manageable. I used organic lemons, since I figured it's the one time where the part of the lemon I'm the most interested in is the outside! After peeling off chunks of peel, I flipped them over and scraped them with the side of my knife to remove all of the pith. The end result made enough for x-mas presents for a few people and some for me to keep as well! My recommendation for drinking this: mix with pomegranite juice or cranberry juice. The flavors work so perfectly together, it tastes like you're drinking candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
My boyfriend and I made this and the coffee liquer for Christmas gifts this year and we got rave reviews! Pretty bottles and some rafia made it look like it came from a specialty shop!! I also liked this is hot tea! Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etters, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
My friends and family LOVE this recipe. However, I found that when you reduce the sugar by half, the flavors become more alive. I have now tried this recipe using lemons, limes, grapefuit and tangerines...and it is all fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
635 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Strawberry Lemonade Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a vodka strawberry lemonade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States